French Studies

Unless otherwise noted, the following dictionaries are electronic.

French language dictionaries

• Le Petit Robert 
  French dictionary that includes detailed definitions with examples, expressions, synonyms, antonyms, etymologies, literary citations, and more.

• Grand dictionnaire terminologique (GDT)
  Maintained by the Office québécois de la langue française, this dictionary provides terms used in specific fields of study and professions in French, English, and sometimes other languages.

• Usito 
  This free electronic dictionary describes standard French in use in North America. Developed by the Université de Sherbrooke. 

• Dictionnaire de l'Académie française 
  Important monolingual French dictionary which has been published by the Académie Française since 1694. Includes the most recent 9th edition.

• Larousse Dictionaries

  French dictionary with definitions, expressions, citations, pronunciations, and more.

• Dictionnaire Vivant de la Langue Française (DVLF)

Bilingual dictionaries

• Le Grand Robert & Collins
  French to English/English to French dictionary. Considered

• Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: French-English
  French to English dictionary (Oxford Reference platform)

• Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary: English-French
  English to French dictionary (Oxford Reference platform)

• Larousse bilingual dictionaries

Historical dictionaries

• Dictionnaires des 16e et 17e siecles

• Frédéric Godefroy, Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française, et de tous ses dialectes du IXe siècle au XVe siècle
  Dictionary of the old French language and all its dialects from the 9th to the 15th century (1881-1902)
  REF PC2889 .G5 (10 Volumes)

• Dictionnaires d'autrefois
  French dictionaries of the 17th, 18th, 19th and 20th centuries from the Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) at the University of Chicago.

• Dictionnaire du Moyen Français (1330-1500)
  Online dictionary of Middle French (1330-1500)

Specialized dictionaries

The following are select specialized and focused dictionarie

• Dictionnaire des lettres françaises (print, 5 volumes) (1039-1971)

• Dictionnaire des canadianismes (print) (1989)
  Over 8000 words and expressions used in French-speaking Canada.

• Nouveau dictionnaire des difficultés du français moderne (print) (1987)

• Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française (print, 4 volumes) (1987) 

• Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires de langue française en Afrique au sud du Sahara (print) (1996)

• Dictionnaire des oeuvres littéraires du Québec (print) (1978)

• Dictionnaire du français acadien (print) (1999)

• Dictionnaire du français classique (print) (1988)

• Dictionnaire des Expressions Québécoises (print) (2003)