Skip to main content

French Language & Literature

E-Texts

Provides access to a number of public domain French literary texts.
 
Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language, University of Chicago.
ARTFL is a database containing the full texts of major literary works in French, bibliographies, an image database, and reference tools. See the ARTFL Reference Collection for:
  • ARTFL Project: French-English Dictionary
  • The Wordsmyth English Dictionary-Thesaurus
  • ARTFL Project: Roget's Thesaurus, 1911 edition
  • ARTFL Project: Webster's Revised Unabridged Dictionary
  • Verb Conjugation Using the INFL Analyzer (unrestricted)
  • Morphological Analysis
Full text collection of 3000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history. Particularly strong in literature.
 
Gallica gives free Internet access to over 70,000 digital works and more than 80,000 images, as well as many hours of sound recordings. Click here for a tutorial on Gallica.
 
Other Women's Voices Translations of women's writing before 1700
A personal website collecting full texts and excerpts of works by women from Europe, Asia and the Middle East. Works range from 2200 BCE to 1700.
 
Classic works world literature mainly in English; includes original french works and a number of translations into English.
 
Le Réseau francophone des bibliothèques nationales numériques (RFBNN) a pour mission de réunir au sein d’une instance coopérative ouverte les grandes institutions documentaires de la Francophonie déjà engagées dans des programmes de numérisation patrimoniale, ou développant des projets dans ce domaine.