Publication coverage: 1910 - present
Covers communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS); tropical diseases; parasitology; human nutrition; community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology); medicinal and poisonous plants. 40% of the records are unique to global health. Produced by CABI. Material indexed includes: foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material. Content is derived from over 7,000 journals.
Publication coverage: 1947 - present
Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database produced by Elsevier B.V., containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals published world-wide. It contains bibliographic records with citations, abstracts and indexing derived from biomedical articles in peer reviewed journals, and is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
This Google Scholar access point allows you to link directly from search results to Queen's Library full text. Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
Publication coverage: Ovid MEDLINE(R) Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE(R) 1946 to Present
Print holdings: Index Medicus 1879-2002 at the Bracken Health Sciences Library
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.
Publication coverage: 1946 –
PubMed includes over 26 million citations for biomedical articles back to 1946. PubMed also includes links to sites providing full text articles and related resources. Mobile access is available for PubMed.
PubMed Health is based on systematic reviews of clinical trials and specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports.
Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question "What works?" in medical and health care.
Also known as: Sociofile
Access via: ProQuest
Covers sociological topics within such fields as anthropology, communications, counselling, crime, economics, education, ethics, medicine, community development, philosophy, public policy, political science, religion, social psychology and welfare. Coverage includes journal articles, books, dissertations, conference proceedings, and reviews.