Skip to main content

HIST 304: Civil War and the Making of America

Finding Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.  

Key Journal Indexes

America: History and Life
Covers the history of Canada and the United States from prehistoric times to the present. It indexes articles from 1,700 journals, selected books and dissertations.

Topic: Presidential versus congressional Reconstruction plans and actions

Search: (presidential or congressional) and reconstruction

  • Limit your results: Year: 1865 AD to Year: 1877 AD
  • Modify to search other subject terms: congress* or federal government [quotes around phrase?]
  • Limit to Academic Journals
  • Also search presidents: Abraham Lincoln, Andrew Johnson, Ulysses Grant

To find out if Queen’s subscribes to the journal, click on Get It! @ Queen’s if the full text is not readily available.

Other Relevant Databases

Historical Abstracts

Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective: 1907-1984

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR
A digitized collection of articles from key periodicals (about 327 history titles are indexed as well as 19 African American Studies titles), excluding the most current 2 to 5 years of a title. 

Search Engines

Google Scholar
Google's scholarly search engine.  Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials including journal articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Enabling the Get it @ Queen's links
Off-campus
: access Google Scholar through the Queen's Library link where you will have to enter your NetID and password

To enable the Get it at Queen's links off campus

Summon
Summon is the library’s search engine, which enables a simultaneous search of QCAT and many of the library’s online collections from a single search box. It can be a good starting point to find material but if you are doing high level research, you will want to search relevant subject specific databases.

Look it Up
To find journal articles by title, you can use Summon. Type the title of the article in the search box.  Remember to add quotations to search for the title as a phrase. For example:

Hahn, Steven. “Slave Emancipation, Indian Peoples, and the Projects of a New American Nation-State.” Journal of the Civil War Era 3.3 (2013): 307–330.

 

 

 

 

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to  American history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title.. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.

How to Search for a Journal in QCAT

Select the ‘journal title exact" option from the drop-down menu. Type in the name of the journal and then press Search.

Both print journals and e-journals will appear in your search results if we have access to them.

Check the extent of our print holdings or the years covered online.