Skip to main content

HIST 315: Modern Latin American History

Modern Latin American History

Finding Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.  

Key Journal Indexes

Historical Abstracts
HA covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present. It indexes articles from more than 2,600 journals, selected books and dissertations.

Prisma Database with HAPI Index
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Paired with HAPI, the Hispanic American Periodicals Index provides complete bibliographic citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean since 1970.

HLAS Online (Handbook of Latin American Studies)

Other Relevant Databases

America: History and Life
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present.

Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database which provides indexing (with abstracts) to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.

Ethnic NewsWatch
 is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.

Latin American Newsletters

Public Affairs International (PAIS)
PAIS provides coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.

JSTOR
A digitized collection of articles from key periodicals (about 327 history titles are indexed as well as 55 Latin American Studies titles), excluding the most current 2 to 5 years of a title. 

Search Engines

Google Scholar
Google's scholarly search engine.  Google Scholar searches for scholarly materials including journal articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Enabling the Get it @ Queen's links
Off-campus
: access Google Scholar through the Queen's Library link where you will have to enter your NetID and password

To enable the Get it at Queen's links off campus

Summon
Summon is the library’s search engine, which enables a simultaneous search of QCAT and many of the library’s online collections from a single search box. It can be a good starting point to find material but if you are doing high level research, you will want to search relevant subject specific databases.

Featured Journal Titles

The Americas
Bulletin of Latin American Research
Canadian Journal of Latin American and Carribean Studies
Comparative Studies in Society and History
The Hispanic American Historical Review
Historia Mexicana (text in Spanish)
Journal of Iberian and Latin American Research
Journal of Latin American Studies
Latin American Perspectives
Latin American Research Review
Mexican Studies
NACLA Report on the Americas
Studies in Latin American Popular Culture

 

 

 

 

Why use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to  American history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title.. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference

How to Search for a Journal in QCAT?

In QCAT: 

• Select the ‘journal title exact" option
  from the dropdown menu
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

TIP: Search the journal title and not the
        article title.

Both print journals and ejournals will appear in your search results if we have access to them.

Check the extent of our print holdings or the years covered online.