Skip to main content

HIST 315: Modern Latin American History

Modern Latin American History

Finding Bibliographies

Consult bibliographies to find a comprehensive list of sources on a specific topic or a selective list of key works on a topic. To find out what bibliographies the Library has, do a keyword or subject search in QCAT.

"latin america" and history and bibliography

To find bibliographies on a topic, look for the subdivision bibliography following a subject heading.

Cuba--History--1959-  --Bibliography

Selected bibliographies include:

Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
An annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America

Latin America: a Guide to the Historical Literature
REF Z1601 .G75

Latin American Studies : a Basic Guide to Sources
REF Z1601 .L324 1990
This work contains a list of subject bibliographies for history, as well as national bibliographies for individual Latin American countries, and a special list of bibliographies of early publications.

Latin American History; a Guide to the Literature in English.
F1401.2 H9L

An older publication but useful for those who want to review the available literature in English rather than Spanish or Portuguese, this wide-ranging guide covers social science topics as well as history.

Latin America and the Caribbean : a Critical Guide to Research Sources
REF Z1601 .L3225 1992
 

Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies which will help you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic.

Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

For example, there are research guides on Latin American Studies and essays on The Cuban Revolution, Cuban Missle Crisis, The United States and the Guatemalan Revolution, The Sandinista Revolution and the FSLN, and Military Government in Latin America, 1959-1990 to name a few.