Skip to main content

HIST 315: Modern Latin American History

Modern Latin American History

Featured Websites

Avalon Project : Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
The bulk of the ephemera currently found in this collection was originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards.

Digital Library of the Caribbean
Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
The HathiTrust is a collection of over 10 million digitized books held in major research libraries around the world.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project 
A collection of primary source documents from ancient to modern times, such as

LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center): History
The most comprehensive source for Latin America on the internet with well organized subject and country links.

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection

History: Latin America–Primary Sources 
Offers online versions of selected Latin American manuscripts, covering the Colonial period and 19th and 20th centuries. Because sit is at U of Washington, some of the texts are locked. 

Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources (SALALM)
The Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources portal lists open access digital portals to primary sources for the use of historical research

Latin American Open Archives Portal
The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.

Latin American Studies: Free Digital Resources (Johns Hopkins University)

National Security Archive
Contains declassified documents from the CIA and other sources about Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Honduras, and Mexico.

Sources and General Resources on Latin America

World Digital Library: Latin America and the Caribbean Collections 
This collection contains photographs, maps, books and manuscripts. 

Search the Web

To search for primary source collections, go to Google's Advanced Search page in order to narrow down search results by a sseries of filters, e.g. language, proximity and domain. For example:

“primary sources” “cuban missile crisis” site:edu [search using Google]

This search has been narrowed so it is only searching phrases and only in .edu sites (educational institutions in the U.S.) 

Some websites provide access to online versions of primary sources. These may be digitized images, facsimiles, or full text.