Skip to main content

HIST 335: The Age of Jackson

Why Use a Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other related materials. Some will contain the full text of journals but if not, click

 Get It Link Icon

If the Get It link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item. A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find it. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

History Indexes and Databases

America: History and Life 
Indexes the literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present

Historical Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books and dissertations. Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database of both scholarly and general interest articles. 

JSTOR
A multidisciplinay database of archived scholarly journals, containing a great deal of historical material

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference between scholarly, trade and popular periodicals.

There are many scholarly journals which focus on American history which you will find indexed in the database, American History and Life.  However this featured title specially focuses on the time period.