Skip to main content

HIST 430/828: The Crusades and the Latin Kingdoms

Journal Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Many scholarly journals are considered peer reviewed which means they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.

Many databases including JSTOR or Project Muse provide the ability to ask that the results of a search come from peer reviewed or refereed journals. Usually there is a check box on the search screen page which will guarantee that results come from peer reviewed articles. Not all databases allow limiting to peer reviewed articles.  There is no way to include "peer reviewed" in your search strategy.

Key Journal Indexes

International Medieval Bibliography
Indexes over 4,500 journals (as well as conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften, and exhibition catalogs) on the Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of Medieval and Renaissance Europe from 400-1700

RAMBI
Indexes articles on Jewish Studies.

Index Islamicus
An international classified bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world.

Other Relevant Databases

Feminae Medieval Women and Gender Index

ATLA Religion Database

Bibliography of British and Irish History

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals and other publications.

How to Search for a Journal using QCAT

Once you’re in QCAT: 

• Select the ‘journal title exact" option
  from the dropdown menu
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

TIP: Search the journal title and not the article title.

Both print journals and e-journals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdlings or the years covered online.

Searching for Articles in a Specific Journal

If the journal is indexed in Summon (and over 80% of our journals are), you can use the advanced search screen and enter the journal's title in the From this publication field along with other search terms in their appropriate fields.

If the journal is not indexed (or not for the date range you require) in Summon, first you need to find what sources index that journal. Search the database, UlrichsWeb and search on the journal title or ISSN.

Searching for a Specific Article?

  • Search the article title and as much of the citation information in Summon.
  • Use the journal citation linker.
  • Search QCAT by journal title.

Why Use a Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to film and media.   

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find it. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholary from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.

Featured Journals

There are hundreds of journal relevant to History. The following are a few journals, relevant to this course and to which Queen's Library subscribes: 

Early Medieval Europe

Journal of Medieval History

Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies

Essays in Medieval Studies

Medieval Encounters

Speculum: a Journal of Medieval Studies