Skip to main content

American History

Articles Indexes

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.  

Key Journal Indexes

Indexes over 1700 journals as well as books, book reviews and theses, from prehistoric times - present.
 

Other Relevant Databases 

Magazine intended to entertain, inform and educate the women in America. Today considered to be one of the most important resources of 19th century American life and culture.
 
Public Affairs Information Service, indexes books, pamphlets, reports, journals and government documents, including American history sources.
 
Provides access to popular and general interest Anglo-American and European periodicals from the 19th century and early 20th century.
 
Readers' Guide ...
Print holdings: REF AI3.R2 from 1900-2006 (Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
REF AP3.R496 (1890-1922) (Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature)
Indexes U.S. periodicals of broad, general and popular character.
 
Portal for slavery and abolition studies.

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to  American history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title.. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference

How to Search for a Journal Using QCAT

Once you’re in QCAT: 

• Select the ‘journal title exact" option
  from the dropdown menu
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

TIP: Search the journal title and not the
        article title.

Both print journals and ejournals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdlings or the years covered online.