Skip to main content

British History

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Britain in the Hanoverian Age, 1714-1837: an Encyclopedia
REF DA480.B25 1997
Over 1,000 signed articles in this subject encyclopedia, arranged alphabetically, end with a bibliography. Present a basic, broad overview of life in Hanoverian Britain and the Empire (especially Canada, Australia, New Zealand, India, and the future United States.
 
 
Dictionary of English Place Names
REF DA645.W45 1991t
Information about the meanings and origins of over 12,000 English place-names. Original spelling and language provided.
 
Encyclopaedia of Oxford
REF DA690.O98 1988u
Dictionary format. Information about places, buildings, institutions, businesses, events, and subjects connected to Oxford.
 
The Longman Companions to History
Consult QCAT under the series title (see above title) for individual call numbers. Wealth of chronological, statistical and tabular information on a major area of historical study and are written by a leading scholar in the field.
 
Medieval England : an Encyclopedia
REF DA129.M43 1998
Comprehensive survey of England from the 5th century to the 16th century, covering all aspects of social, cultural and political life in medieval England.
 
This 14 volume set is the "most important general modern history" which covers the period from the Renaissance to 1945.
 
With over 4000 A-Z entries, this dictionary offers a wealth of fact and insight into 2000 years of British life - the people, the places, the events, and the social, economic and cultural changes that have influenced the way we live now.
 
 
The "History" collection of reference works is one component in the Oxford Reference Online database, a huge and comprehensive resource which contains the full text of over 120 dictionaries, companions and other reference publications covering the complete subject spectrum.
 
The Plantagenet Encyclopedia: an Alphabetical Guide to 400 Years of English History
REF DA225.P54 1990t
Provides "alphabetical access to factual information, together with illustrations and the explanation of historical concepts and terms".
 
Tudor England: an Encyclopedia
REF DA315.T753 2001t
Over 700 entries, covers the time period from 1485 to 1603. Topics include personalities, history, religion, art, music, politics, science, society and literature of the Tudor period.
 
Victorian Britain: an Encyclopedia
REF DA550.V53
Provides an "overview and point of departure" for the study of "persons, events, institutions, topics, groups, and artifacts in Great Britain between 1837 and 1901". It is arranged alphabetically with signed articles that have bibliographies.