Skip to main content

Canadian History

Finding Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor. 

Key Journal Indexes

America: History and Life Canadian resource
Indexes over 1700 journals as well as books, book reviews and theses, from prehistoric times to the present.

Bibliography of Native North Americans Canadian resource

Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life. Covers from 16th century to present.

Other Useful Databases

Indexes Canadian trade and business journals, popular, special interest and academic journals, 55 French language journals.
 
Print holdings: 1920 - 1998: Check QCAT
Provides "access to Canadian and American periodical literature" including historical journals.
 
Print holdings: On microfilm: Check holdings
 
Electronic journal archive, includes such titles as: Eighteenth-Century Studies, Journal of Modern History.
 
Index to articles published in a number of Canadian periodicals of historical significance, including Maclean's Magazine, The Financial Post, The Monetary Times of Canada, Massey's Magazine, The Canadian Bookman, The Canadian Magazine, Saturday Night and The University Magazine. Provides a window into the social and cultural life of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
 
Scholarly electronic journals. Includes such titles as: Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History, Journal of Interdisciplinary History, Victorian Studies.
 
Indexes articles from the most widely read French-language periodicals distributed in Quebec. The electronic database corresponds to the print indexes: Periodex and Radar (1973-1983: REF F5400.R3) which united to form Point de Repère (1984-1993: REF AI7.P64t microfiche) and was continued by Repère (1994-1999: REF AI7.P64t microfiche).
 
Print holdings: On microfilm: Check holdings

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to Canadian history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title.. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference

How to Search for a Journal Using QCAT

Once you’re in QCAT: 

• Select the ‘journal title exact" option
  from the dropdown menu
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

TIP: Search the journal title and not the
        article title.

Both print journals and ejournals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdlings or the years covered online.