Skip to main content

Canadian History

Bibliographies

Consult bibliographies to find a comprehensive list of sources on a specific topic or a selective list of key works on a topic. To find out what bibliographies the Library has, do a  subject search in QCAT.
 
Canada History Bibliography
Women Canada History Bibliography

Canada

Bibliographia Canadiana Canadian resource
REF Z1382.T47
A detailed bibliography of books and articles under broad chronological subject divisions published prior to 1971. Includes subject index.
 
Bibliography of Works on Canadian Foreign Relations Canadian resource
1945-1970 REF Z6465.C2P33
1971-1975 REF Z6465.C2B35 1977
1976-1980 REF Z6465.C2B36 1982
1981-1985 REF Z6465.C2B37 1987
1986-1990 REF Z6465.C2B38 1994
1991-1995 REF Z6465.C2B39 1998
Includes articles, theses, government documents and conference papers. Organized by broad subject area, with name and subject indexes.
 
Canadian History: A Reader's Guide Canadian resource
REF Z1382.C23 1994
Volume One: Beginnings to Confederation
Volume Two: Confederation to the Present
Replaces the Reader's Guide to Canadian History. Provides "a select and critical guide to historical writing about pre- and post-Confederation Canada".
 
Canadian Political Parties, 1867-1968: A Historical Bibliography Canadian resource
REF Z7165.C2H43
Annotated bibliography dealing with Canada's federal political history. Indexes books, articles, and theses published before 1970. Author and subject indexes.
 
History of Canada: an Annotated Bibliography Canadian resource
REF Z1382.H57
An annotated bibliography of journal articles relating to Canadian history and life.

Regional

The Atlantic Provinces: Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island Canadian resource
REF F5180.Z9M6
 
Bibliographie de l'histoire du Quebec et du Canada=Bibliography of the History of Quebec and Canada Canadian resource
1946-1965 REF + LP Z1382.A9 1987
1966-1975 REF + LP Z1382.A92 1981
1976-1980 REF + LP Z1382.A93 1985
1981-1985 LP Z1382.A94 1990
Includes citations to journal articles, books and dissertations in English and French covering all aspects of Canadian and Quebec history from pre European conquest to the present day. Subject index to all six volumes.
 
A Bibliography of British Columbia Canadian resource
REF Z1392.B73S65
REF Z1392.B73L68
REF Z1392.B73E34
Three volumes separately titled:
Navigations, Traffiques and Discoveries, 1774-1848
Laying the Foundations, 1849-1899
Years of Growth 1900-1950
Annotated bibliographies include books, journal articles, yearbooks and directories.
 
Bibliography of Ontario History, 1867-1976 Canadian resource
REF Z1392.O6O67
Includes books, journal articles, theses and government documents dealing with Ontario history since 1867.
 
The Bibliography of Ontario History, 1976-1986 = La Bibliographie d'histoire ontarienne, 1976-1986 Canadian resource
REF Z1392.O6B52 1989
Successor to Bibliography of Ontario History, 1867-1976.
 
Includes "books and pamphlets relating to the Prairie Provinces arranged chronologically by date of publication with some exceptions". Has author, title and subject indexes. All items in this source are available on microfiche in Special Collections. They are not listed in QCAT.
 
Historic Kingston is an blend of articles, photographs, illustrations and maps detailing various aspects of the rich heritage of Kingston.
 
Western Canada since 1870: a Select Bibliography Canadian resource
REF Z1392.N7A77
A selective bibliography of books, journal articles, pamphlets and theses on Western Canada. Arrangement is topical with author and select subject index.