Skip to main content

Canadian History

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Canada Year Book (2007-2012)
Discontinued April 2013.
 
(1867-1967)
CA1 BS11 C402 (1980-2012 (2002-2005 not published) (Documents)
CA1 BS11 C202 (1867-1979) (Documents)
An annual statistical review of the resources, demography, institutions, and social and economic conditions of Canada and its citizens.
 
Canadian Almanac and Directory
F5008.1.C3
Library has print volumes from 1849 onwards with some gaps. Latest volume is shelved at the Information Desk. Provides a variety of information about Canadian life.
 
F5003.C33 (SL Reference and Special Collections)
From 1960 to 1970, was named Canadian Annual Review. Survey of the major political, economic, and social events of the year in Canada.
 
Canadian Annual Review of Public Affairs
F1008 .C4 (1901-1938)
Survey of the major political, economic, and social events of the year in Canada.
 
The Canadian Centenary Series
REF F5055.C22 (1963-1986)
Traces the history of Canada "from the early voyages of the Vikings to 1967" and is the "definitive history of Canada". Each volume has lengthy bibliographies.
 
The Canadian Encyclopedia
REF AE25.G63 2000
"Includes almost 10,000 entries written by scholars". It provides "an intricate sketch of Canada" in "all aspects of life in Canada" and "of all regions". For many of the entries, bibliographies are provided.
 
Canadian News Facts
REF F1034.C23 (Index Shelves): 1967-2001
Electonic: 1997-2001
 
Encyclopedia Canadiana
REF F5010.E5 1972
Although this is an older edition, it is still useful for historical material on all aspects of Canadian life. Many of the signed articles have bibliographies.
 
Political, social and economic statistics from 1867 to 1983.
 
The "History" collection of reference works is one component in the Oxford Reference Online database, a huge and comprehensive resource which contains the full text of over 120 dictionaries, companions and other reference publications covering the complete subject spectrum.

Overview

Consult specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person'

Dictionaries provide short definitions (a sentence or two, or a short paragraph) of terms or a brief overview of an subject, etc.

Encyclopedias contain longer essays that provide a more in-depth discussion of topics.

To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries" or look for these words following a subject heading

Canada--History--Dictionaries