Skip to main content

Medieval History

Biographies

Consult biographical dictionaries to get brief information about people, dates and events. 
 
Annotated Index of Medieval Women
REF CT3220.A56 1992t
Contains some 1,500 entries which present a cross-section of women from a span of seven centuries beginning with the year 800.
 
Biography Index
REF Z5301.B61 1946-2010/11
 
An "introduction to those religious, philosophical and political concepts central to the medieval worldview....Each entry presents a biographical outline, a list of works and a summary of their main theories, alongside suggestions for further reading."
 
The Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Renewal, 1300-1500: a Biographical Dictionary
REF CB353.L38 2001
 
Revised edition of the Dictionary of National Biography. A definitive resource for British and Commonwealth biography. Print covers from the earliest times to the year 2000 (60 volumes). Online covers from earliest times to 2001.
 
Who's Who in Early Medieval England, 1066-1272
REF DA177.T94 2001
 
Who's Who in Late Medieval England, 1272-1485
REF DA28.W62t
 
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia
REF HQ1147.E85 W66 2006
Daily life of medieval women in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE.

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.

The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors and is updated annually three times.