Skip to main content

Medieval History

Finding Books

Search QCAT to find books, journals, videos and other materials owned by the Library.  You can search by keywords, author, title or subject headings.
 
To find a specific known item, search by title or author.  To find books on a topic, either try a subject or keyword search.

Subject Headings vs Keyword Searching

 
Subject headings allow you to search the library catalogue for resources on a particular author or topic and are often more productive than keyword searches. 
 
Keyword searches work best if you have multiple concepts or topics. Think of the words that best describe your topic and then connect them with the boolean operators AND OR NOT. Use the results to find relevant titles and identify assigned subject headings for your topic in order to find similar books. 
 
To find books by a particular author/person, search QCAT by author:
 
kempe margery
augustine saint bishop of hippo

To find books about a particular author/person, search QCAT by subject heading:

kempe margery
augustine saint bishop of hippo

To find books on a topic, use a keyword search if you do not know the correct subject heading for a topic. Think of the focus (or key) words that describe your topic.

medieval and family
 
Select useful titles and look at the full record for subject headings.
 
family--history
households--england--history
england--social life and customs--medieval period
 
Examples of subject headings relating to medieval history:
 
Middle Ages
Great Britain--History--To 1485
Great Britain--History--Medieval period, 1066-1485
Great Britain--Social life and customs--Medieval period, 1066-1485
Hastings, Battle of, 1066
Social history--Medieval, 500-1500
Women--History--Middle Ages, 500-1500
 
To find bibliographies on a topic, look for the subdivision bibliography following a subject heading.
 
civilization, medieval--bibliography
 
To find primary sources in the library, look for the subdivision sourcesfollowing a subject heading.
 
england--social life and customs--medieval period, 1066-1485--sources

E-Books

The Library subscribes to a number of e-book packages which can be accessed via Databases. Packages that are of interest to history students are:
 
Provides full-text access to major works in American, European and Middle Eastern history. Topics covered include many aspects of history plus archaeology, area studies, art, folklore, literature, music, philosophy, political science, religion, and women's studies. Records for these books should be in QCAT.
 
Historical reference compendium allows access to the texts of the Cambridge Histories series. Search or browse by topic. Relevant for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers.
 
Oxford Scholarship Online            
Offers full-text access to scholarly publishing in 20 subjects from around the world,
 
Provides access to about 600,000 electronic books (ebooks) Prom a wide variety of publishers.
 
UPSO includes titles from Oxford University Press and other partner presses.  QUL has access to selected titles, indicated by a green open lock icon on search results screens.