Skip to main content

History

Journal Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.

Key History Indexes

History of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present.
 
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
 
IMB covers all subjects relating to the period of 300-1500 in Europe, North Africa, Armenia and the Muslim World.

Other Relevant Databases

Find articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
 
Collection of digital reproductions of nearly 150,000 titles and editions published in the UK and the Americas during the 18th century. Includes Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Part II: New Editions.
 
Full-text access to rare journals printed between 1685 and 1813.
 
Search the New York Times, Times (London) and more...
 
Index to English-language journals published from the late 1700s to the early 1900s.
 
Facsimile page images and searchable full-text for approximately 500 international and scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.

Featured Journal Titles

There are hundreds of scholarly journals relevant to History. The following are a few journals, to which Queen's Library subscribes: 

     

      The Historical Journal

      Journal of Contemporary History

      Journal of Family History

      Journal of Interdsiciplinary History

      Journal of Modern History

      Past and Present

      War in History

 

 

 

 

 

Why Use an Index

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find it. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.