Skip to main content
Queen's University Library
Search this Guide
Evaluating, Writing and Citing Sources
Finding Book Reviews
There are a number of databases and indexes to find reviews of a particular book depending on whether you want scholarly or non-scholarly reviews and on the publication date of the book.
Academic Search Complete
Find book reviews in scholarly journals and magazines. to do this, use Advanced Search and select Document Type: Book Review and search.
America: History and Life
History of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present.
Book Review Digest
SL REF Z1219 .B7 (1905-2005)
Book Review Index
REF Z1035 .A1 B6
Selects reviews from a much broader range of general periodicals than
Book Review Digest
, but BRI only cites reviews and does not include review excerpts.
Offers good coverage of European periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. If you wish to limit your search to book reviews, use in any search "book review" or "review article" or "review essay"
H-Net Humanities and Social Sciences Online
Source of online scholar books reviews - reviews often appear here before you see the reviews in scholarly journals.
Does not contain a field called book reviews but does include "review articles," which usually review several books in the same subject area.
History: Reviews of New Books
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Click on the Iter Bibliography and go to
Advanced Search. Change "type" field to Review or Review Article
JSTOR only has a sampling of history journals but it can be an excellent source of book reviews
To find them
use Advanced Search and select - NARROW BY: Item Type - Reviews
New York Times
If you wish to limit your search to book reviews, use Advanced search and select Document type: Review
or use term: "book review"
Reviews in History
Periodicals Archive Online
Indexes periodicals from the humanities and social sciences. To search, enter the title of the book in keyword(s) field, and under Search Options limit to "Book Reviews".
Like JSTOR, it only indexes a small number of history journals but one can limit your search to book reviews. To do this,
use Advanced Search and select Content Type: Reviews
Reviews in American History
One of the primary review journals for American history is Reviews in American History. The full text for this journal from 1973-2010 and the more current issues are available through Project Muse..
Web of Science
To find book reviews, click on Advanced Search and enter your title in the search box, e.g. ti=(lotus and the lion). Click on "book review" under the restrict results drop down menu.
Also look at the Book Reviews subject guide.
Primary Sources >>
Guides to Consult
Book Reviews subject guide
Writing a Book Review guide
Writing a Historical Book Review
Sep 18, 2018 12:13 PM