Drama Works by
Drama Works is your one-stop sourcebook for texts, theory, and activities. This colourful and visually engaging student resource offers current, accessible, and performance-ready approaches to the study of high school dramatic arts and encourages students to connect theoretical knowledge, play, and text excerpts with the tools needed to devise, adapt, and stage their own original works. Each chapter follows a three-part structure - Minds On, Action, and Consolidation - that mirrors the natural continuum of student skill development and allows for use in multiple grade levels. Extended screenplay excerpts have been carefully selected to help illustrate genre concepts and offer a range of classic and contemporary choices.
ETFO Arts: Dance, Drama, Music and Visual Arts in the Junior/Intermediate Grades by
A practical book for junior/intermediate grade teachers who are new or inexperienced in arts education. Includes all the elements of dance, drama, music, and visual arts and shows educators how to use the arts to support literacy and other subjects. Lesson ideas to help grade 4 to 8 teachers integrate the arts into their classrooms, with a focus on selected elements for four arts areas. The music lesson ideas focus on duration, pitch/melody, timbre, expressive controls, harmony/texture, and form. Includes a CD with sounds and a text CD with tif, jpg, and pdf versions of Untitled (1982) by artist Keith Haring, as both sound and Haring's image are used in activities in the book.
Dramathemes by
In the fourth edition of this classic, Larry Swartz digs into the riches of the past three editions and considers the experiences of language arts teachers who have used all versions of the book for almost three decades. Simple, engaging strategies for exploring literacy in new and innovative ways show how to weave picture books, novels, poetry, scripts, photographs, and other interactive strategies into effective literacy instruction. Full of engaging new ideas, the book includes many new sources and carefully chosen strategies for exploring issues such as identity, poverty, diversity, bullying, and immigration.
Secondary Drama: a Creative Source Book by
Providing inspiration for daily practice alongside a full range of tried and tested schemes of work, this exciting new book offers support to secondary teachers wanting to create original drama experiences to meet their own unique classroom needs. The book models a positive and reflective approach to classroom practice offering a thoughtful exploration of the craft and art of drama teaching covering key issues such as classroom management, student engagement, planning, progression and assessment.
Creative Activities for the Secondary Classroom by
Focusing on creativity, confidence, motivation and other core, workplace skills, Mark Labrow provides a wealth of ideas to help teachers bring creativity to their classroom. The activities in this resource will help students excel at teamwork, negotiation, have an awareness of themselves and others, and more.
Teaching Classroom Drama and Theatre by
In this volume, the authors present a new model of how teachers can draw together the various methodologies of process drama and traditional theatre teaching.
Readers Theatre by
Readers Theatre activities are perfect for different learning styles. In addition, students who participate in Readers Theatre show improved standards of oral expression, self-confidence, self-image, and creativity. In Readers Theatre: A Secondary Approach, the author combines new and updated suggestions, ideas, and techniques with basic strategies that can be altered, expanded, and experimented with to provide all students with enriched learning experiences. All of the activities have been successfully used in the classroom. In this resource , you will find: effective ways to incorporate ReadersTheatre into daily lessons ideas for developing original scripts exercises for improving expression ways to incorporate Readers Theatre into any subject area ways to script short stories, poems, novel excerpts, and other material staging suggestions for different forms of Readers Theatre evaluation ideas reproducible scripts from lessons, as well as bonus scripts from classic authors, with staging suggestions evaluation tools effective ways to incorporate ReadersTheatre into daily lessons ideas for developing original scripts exercises for improving expression ways to incorporate Readers Theatre into any subject area ways to script short stories, poems, novel excerpts, and other material staging suggestions for different forms of Readers Theatre evaluation ideas reproducible scripts from lessons, as well as bonus scripts from classic authors, with staging suggestions evaluation tools
Starting Drama Teaching by
Why teach drama? How can a newcomer teach drama successfully? How do we recognise quality in drama? Starting Drama Teaching is a comprehensive guide to the teaching of drama schools. It looks at the aims and purposes of drama and provides an insight into the theoretical perspectives that underpin practice alongside practical activities, examples of lessons and approaches to planning. Written in an accessible style, the book addresses such practical issues as setting up role play, how to inject depth into group drama, working with text, teaching playwriting, as well as common problems that arise in the drama classroom and how to avoid them. The third edition of this popular text has been fully updated to take account of recent developments in policy and educational thinking and includes: The implications of drama¿s place in the curriculum and the way in which drama practice relates to, and in many ways has anticipated, such concepts as dialogic teaching, engagement, community cohesion and diversity; Guidance on different approaches to drama; Advice on how teachers can achieve and recognise quality work in drama; A discussion of drama concepts including applied theatre, ensemble and rehearsal approaches; A new chapter on teaching Shakespeare and an additional section on play writing; Suggestions for further reading. Written by a leading authority in the field, this textbook emphasises the need for quality drama education and will be valuable reading for trainee teachers who are new to drama and teachers who wish to update and broaden their range.
The Drama Teacher's Survival Guide by
Success assured -- for every show YOLI direct or produce! Written from 37 years of drama teaching experience, this book provides detailed, step-by-step information, examples and suggestions about how to direct a school drama program without mistakes, trouble or delay. The nineteen chapters cover everything: play selection, tryouts, rehearsals, costuming, props, lighting, publicity and final performance. To further clarify each step, examples are provided with illustrations, photos and proven ideas. Reproducible handouts and forms are also included together with a list of many additional resources. Whether you are a seasoned drama director or a beginner, you will find this book to be an invaluable aid. It will banish your stress and guarantee your success!
The Drama Teacher's Survival Guide 2 by
A handbook of detailed step-by-step information, examples, and suggestions for directing a school theatre program.
Secondary Stages by
Secondary Stagescombines in one volume everything a high school teacher needs to organize and implement a sucessful, dynamic theatre program. Bennett's approach is based on a simple premise: that exposure to theatre can be an utterly transforming experience for students - one that enables them to reach unimagined levels of personal, emotional, and intellectual growth. His book delivers hands-on techniques to make it all happen, illustrating how to: draw interested students into the program inspire students to act with truth and conviction establish the connection between good improvisation and good scene work carry passion for theatre outside the classroom and into the mainstream of school life choose material that's stimulating enough to attract a sizable student audience without creating unwanted controversy structure activities and lessons so that they encourage maximum sensitivity and awareness lay the basis for mounting memorable productions. With these goals in mind and with more than three decades of experience, Bennett presents strategies that have consistently proven effective for the broadest possible range of students.
CODE offers Teacher Resources such as Unit Plans, Lesson Plans, and Assessment Tools for Dance and Drama for Intermediate and Senior classrooms, some with video.
E.g.: Students in grades 7 and 8 will use the elements of drama to explore issues connected to financial literacy. Through individual, small group and whole class activities, students will understand that drama can be used to investigate real life issues connected to money, consumerism and finances.
Stratford Festival Teaching Resources
Study guides for past festival shows are available on the Stratford Festival website.