The Complete Guide to Becoming an English Teacher by
This essential companion for aspiring secondary English teachers in the UK has been extensively reworked to help students meet the very latest professional and academic standards, while also equipping them with the knowledge and skills they will need for the beginning of their teaching career. Focusing on the essentials needed to be a successful English teacher, the authors of The Complete Guide to Becoming an English Teacher, Second Edition combine subject knowledge with ideas, examples and approaches for creating an effective, vibrant learning environment, and real examples of lesson plans and schemes of work. Each chapter clearly links practice to theoretical and critical perspectives on teaching, making this an ideal text for students working towards M-level credits or a Masters in Teaching and Learning.
Activities for the Differentiated Classroom: Language Arts, Grades 6-8 by
Correlated to the national standards, these practical, ready-to-use activities help teachers use research-based strategies to meet the needs of all students in their differentiated classrooms.
Best Practices for Teaching Writing by
Discover how to create a reading/writing oasis, blend narrative and descriptive writing, help students compose persuasive cover letters, use "Five Circles/Five Paragraphs" and "Punny Valentines," and more!
Best Practices in Literacy Instruction by
This book has been replaced by Best Practices in Literacy Instruction, Sixth Edition, ISBN 978-1-4625-3677-1.
Best Practices in Writing Instruction by
Well established as a definitive text - this book translates cutting-edge research into effective guidelines for teaching writing in grades K-12. Illustrated with vivid classroom examples, the book identifies the components of a complete, high-quality writing program. Leading experts provide strategies for teaching narrative and argumentative writing; using digital tools; helping students improve specific skills, from handwriting to spelling to sentence construction; teaching evaluation and revision; connecting reading and writing instruction; teaching vulnerable populations; using assessment to inform instruction; and more.
Comprehending Content: Reading Across the Curriculum, Grades 6-12 by
Set of two DVDs of a high school classroom to show how to meet the challenge of improving students' reading skills across the curriculum. Includes examples of working with students using texts from multiple disciplines, as well as collaborating with colleagues throughout the school.
Connecting Comics to Curriculum by
Here is the essential guide for librarians and teachers who want to develop a quality, curriculum-based graphic novel collection-and use its power to engage and inform middle and high school students. * Photos of school libraries, classrooms, and students * Model template lesson plans by subject area * A list of recommended resources, such as professional books, websites and blogs * A glossary of common graphic novel terms * Bibliographies of quality classic and contemporary graphic novel titles for libraries and classrooms, broken down into middle school and high school curricular areas
The English Teacher's Survival Guide by
Problem-solving techniques for all aspects of the English teacher's job This unique time-saving book is packed with tested techniques and materials to assist new and experienced English teachers with virtually every phase of their job from lesson planning to effective discipline techniques. The book includes 175 easy-to-understand strategies, lessons, checklists, and forms for effective classroom management and over 50 reproducible samples teachers can adopt immediately for planning, evaluation, or assignments. It is filled with creative and functional ideas for reading response activities, writing assignments, group and individual projects, and speeches. Offers instructions for creating and implementing an effective classroom-wide behavior management program Shows how to practice the art of teaching English effectively and reduce time on labor intensive tasks Reveals how to work effectively with parents, colleagues, substitute teachers, administrators, and community resources The second edition includes coverage of technology in the classroom, advice for working with reluctant readers, a wealth of sample teaching units and more.
Studying Poetry by
20 poetry writing exercises
The Reading Comprehension Blueprint by 
Graphic Novels and Comics in the Classroom by
Sequential art combines the visual and the narrative in a way that readers have to interpret the images with the writing. Comics make a good fit with education because students are using a format that provides active engagement. This collection of essays is a wide-ranging look at current practices using comics and graphic novels in educational settings, from elementary schools through college. The contributors cover history, gender, the use of specific graphic novels, practical application and educational theory. Instructors considering this book for use in a course may request an examination copy here.
|
"historical fiction" and canad? "media literacy" "graphic novel" or "comic books" native and antholog? video? writing "literature circle?" |
"short stories" and (canad? or world) poet? and nature and juvenile (poetry K-12) thompson lars (search as author) ncte English journal as journal title English literature and (teach? or curriculum or lesson?) and secondary |
Nicole Lowrance (juliet) and Graham Hamilton (Romeo) in Folger Theatre's 2005 Romeo and Juliet. Photo by Carol Rosegg.
The Folger Shakespeare Library provides 28 Teaching Modules created by teachers to guide your lesson planning.
The British Library Learning site offers Teaching Resources: From Auden to Woolf, 60 Guides for ages 14 - 18.
Performance Approaches to Teaching Shakespeare by
How can high school and college teachers help their students get the most out of studying Shakespeare? In Performance Approaches to Teaching Shakespeare, Edward L. Rocklin offers teachers a wide array of concepts and practices to explore with their students' specific performances as well as the performance potentials of a Shakespeare text. Examining drama as both text and performance opens up a range of actions that inexperienced readers can miss when they are limited to reading words on the page. The importance of analyzing and interpreting Shakespeare's works becomes clear when students are encouraged to use their critical thinking skills to imagine and perform these texts. To help teachers incorporate a performance dimension into their literature courses, Rocklin's approach asks students to analyze, cast, rehearse, and perform parts of a play, as well as to observe, respond to, and learn from these performances. The many activities outlined in the book include making editorial choices, studying performance histories, staging scenes, and examining current productions through performance records, film, and video. After explaining the constitutive practices and models for performance, Rocklin provides in-depth lessons, including classroom discussions and activities, student responses, and carefully crafted writing assignments, to illustrate how performance works with three Shakespeare plays: The Taming of the Shrew, Richard III, and Hamlet.
Teaching Romeo and Juliet by
Romeo and Juliet is one of the most-taught plays of Shakespeare, yet teachers are always looking for new and effective ways to make the material engaging and adaptable for all students - from those struggling to read to those able to analyze complicated sonnets. By using the concept of differentiated instruction, authors Delia DeCourcy, Lyn Fairchild, and Robin Follet provide a practical, easy-to-use guide for teaching the play that addresses a wide range of student readiness levels, interests, and learning styles. This differentiated approach helps students develop a deep understanding of Romeo and Juliet through activities such as cinematic interpretation, creative writing, dramatic interpretation, and Socratic discussion. An entire curriculum for teaching the play, the book features lesson plans focused on key scenes; scaffolded reading activities that address the different needs of novice, on-target, and advanced learners; quizzes, mini-lessons, and compacting guidelines; and close reader handouts geared toward different levels of readiness.
Talking Points for Shakespeare Plays by
What do students think about Shakespeare? Classic, timeless and full of rich ideas; or difficult, impenetrable and completely uninteresting? We want young people to develop a real interest in Shakespeare, based on their understanding and engagement with the texts. A meaningful classroom discussion that enables every individual to contribute and covers a range of viewpoints, can help students' understanding of Shakespeare's plays, consolidate their learning, and increase their motivation. This highly practical book enables teachers to organise, stimulate and support group discussions that will help students to relate to the characters, and develop their own ideas about the language and meaning. Drawing on four of the most commonly taught Shakespeare plays, the book provides a broad range of exciting tried and tested resources, taking the reader through key parts of the text, along with suggestions for further activities involving writing, drama and electronic media. Features include: -Scene by scene Talking Points for each play -'Thinking Together' extension activities for group work -Guidance on developing your own Talking Points -Talking Points focusing on Shakespeare's language use Offering an accessible, thought-provoking and above all enjoyable way for students to engage with Shakespeare's plays, this book will be highly beneficial reading for English teachers and trainees.
Macbeth Teacher's Guide by
A teacher's guide for Macbeth.
A Midsummer Night's Dream Teacher Guide by
A guide to Midsummer Night's Dream.
Irresistible Shakespeare by
Shakespeare Lessons -- Cracking Open a Play -- What's Novel About a Play?: What's at Play in a Novel? -- What's Happening?: A Close Reading Exercise -- Detective Work -- Pop-Up Language -- Teaching Meter: Six Frequently Asked Questions -- The Music of Language: The Fundamentals of Meter -- Poetry and Prose -- Iambic Pentameter: What's So Great About It Anyway? -- The Poetry Tool Kit -- Scenes for Study -- Richard III: Determined to Be a Villain -- Henry V: This Story Shall the Good Man Teach His Son -- As You Like It: We Have Seen Better Days -- The Taming of the Shrew: Am I Not Christopher Sly? -- A Midsummer Night's Dream: The Course of True Love Never Did Run Smooth -- Romeo and Juliet: Two Blushing Pilgrims -- A Glossary for Shakespeare Studies.
Teaching Macbeth by 
