Skip to main content

Systematic Reviews & Other Syntheses

Introduction

Two versions of EndNote are available:

EndNote basic (also called EndNote online or EndNote web)

  • The free, limited online version of EndNote, which is "perfect when you're new to research and writing."
  • You can access EndNote basic from this website, or, you can access EndNote basic through the library's subscription to the Web of Science database. Accessing EndNote basic through Web of Science provides more resources for using the Cite-While-You-Write plug-in.

EndNote X8 (also called EndNote desktop, previous version EndNote X7)

  • Includes all the features available in EndNote basic and much more.
  • A free 30-day trial is available from the Clarivate Analytics website.
  • Students and faculty who wish to purchase a copy of EndNote X8 may do so directly from Clarivate Analytics. Student pricing is available.

What can EndNote basic do for you?

  • From research to publication, EndNote basic gives you the tools for learning how to do research, cite sources, write term papers, and even match your manuscript to a scientific journal.
  • Create an online account to search, save and use your research sources.
  • Use built-in connections to search the 5 most popular databases.
  • Save and organize the references you find (up to 50,000).
  • Integrate with Microsoft® Word to properly cite and format your paper.
  • Choose from the 7 most popular bibliography formats, including MLA and APA style.
  • Use manuscript matcher to identify the best journal for your research to be published.

What can EndNote X8 do for you?

  • Team access to one reference library - work from a single reference library with up to 100 people, no matter where they are located or what organization they are affiliated with.
  • Sort through years of work in seconds - search across reference metadata, full text journal articles, file attachments, and your personal annotations and notes, to locate the research you need in just seconds.
  • Overcome research limitations - for one upfront price, store and share as many references, documents and files as you need–a necessity for successful collaboration.
  • Cite it right the first time - insert citations and references from your EndNote library into your manuscript and automatically build a bibliography in over 6,000 styles right from Microsoft® Word.
  • See what your team is doing - instantly see the history of changes made to your shared library with a built-in activity log.
  • Take the guesswork out of journal submission - using EndNote online, find the journals where your research is most likely to be accepted based on an analysis of tens of millions of citation connections in Web of Science™.
  • Let the full text find you - initiate a search for full text PDFs across your subscriptions and freely available sources. When the article is found, it will automatically be attached to your reference.

Helpful links

EndNote videos

 

EndNote Basic Cite-While-You-Write Overview (2:37)


What Are You Missing by Using Only EndNote Basic? (6:21)

What's New in EndNote X8?

Exporting results from library resources

Instructions for exporting citations from different library databases into EndNote basic (the web version). These steps may not be applicable for EndNote desktop.‚Äč

1. Summon is available on the Queen’s University Library’s (QUL) main web page.

2. In the Summon search box type exercise and click on the Search button.

 

3. Select the relevant citations by clicking on the file folder icon to save the item. The file folder icon will change to the color red. For this example, I selected five citations.

4. Next double click on one of the red file folders to view your saved citations.

5. Find the Export To… dropdown menu and click on it.

6. Select the EndNote option. You will be asked the following question (see the box below). Select the Save option but note the filename and where on your computer the file will be saved. For example, on my computer this file will be saved in my Downloads file. 

7. Next create or open your EndNote Basic / Web account.

8. Here is how you can access or create an EndNote Basic / Web account. From the Citation Management library guide, in the Intro to EndNote section – the second paragraph – click on the Web of Science link. 

9. Using the Sign In dropdown menu, select the Sign In option if you already have an account, or Register if you want to create a new account.

10. After you sign in or register find the My Tools dropdown menu, click on My Tools and then click on EndNote.

11. In the EndNote basic / web software locate the Collect option. Mouse over the Collect tab and select Import References.

12. Complete the Import References form. Note: You must select ProQuest as the Import Option for the importing to work.

13. Since we selected New Group, EndNote will prompt you to name the new group. This pop-up box will appear in the upper left corner of your computer screen. Type the name of your new group and for this example, I typed Exercise.

14. Once the references have been imported you will see the above statement. Click on the link “Exercise” to view your imported references.

15. Above are the five citations that I imported from Summon to EndNote Basic / Web.

16. Use EndNote to create a bibliography. 

17. Sign out of EndNote when you want to leave the program. To sign out click on the person icon and select Sign Out.

Loading

Finding full text articles within EndNote

Whether you are using EndNote basic or EndNote desktop, be sure you’re taking advantage of the ability to find full text easily.

EndNote basic

Although EndNote basic is freely available, if you sign-in to EndNote via the library database Web of Science (see below) you will be able to see Get it @ Queen's links for each citation that will take you to the full-text article if the publication is purchased by Queen's University Library or otherwise freely available.

 

EndNote desktop

If you have EndNote desktop, go to Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text and add the OpenURL and proxy prefix as seen here:

OpenURL: http://dw2zn6fm9z.search.serialssolutions.com

Proxy prefix: https://proxy.queensu.ca/login?url=

Once you’ve applied these settings, clicking on Find Full Text should import any PDFs available through Queen's University Library or otherwise freely available.