Skip to main content

Latin American Studies

Contents

Consult specialized encyclopedias to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person. To find encyclopedias on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia".

General

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean
REF F1406.C36 1992
 
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures (3 v.)
REF F1406.E515 2000
 
HLAS is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
 
Latin America Profiled: Essential Facts on Society, Business, and Politics…
REF F1408.L37 2000
 
Literary Cultures of Latin America; a Comparative History (3 v.)
PQ7081.A1L525 2004
 
South American Handbook
REF F1401.S7
(1928, 1930, 1932, 1936, 1938, 1940, 1948, 1952, 1961-1986,1988,1990-2006)

Literature

Cambridge History of Latin American Literature (3 v.)
REF PQ7081.A1C35 1996

Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
REF PQ7081.A1E53 1997t

Handbook of Latin American Literature
REF PQ7081.A1H36 1987

Latin American Literature and its Times
REF PQ7081.M625 1999

Latin American Writers (3 v.) and Supplement (2002)
REF PQ7081.A1L37 1989

History

Cambridge History of Latin America (via Cambridge Histories Online)
In print, call numbers vary - some copies are temporarily shelved on reserve

Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History, Culture
REF F1754 .E53 2003

Oxford History of Mexico
F1226 .O94 2000

Politics, Dissidence & Ethnicity

Companion to Latin American Studies
REF F414.C65t 2003

Companion to Racial and Ethnic Studies
HT1521.C65 2002t

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics
REF F1410.E56 2002

Political Parties of the Americas, 1980s to 1990s: Canada, Latin America, West Indies
REF JL195.P63 1992

Revolutionary and Dissident Movements
REF JC328.3.D433 1988