Skip to main content

Medieval Drama: the York and Towneley Cycles

Journal Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor. In general, the most thoroughly researched articles on literary topics are found in scholarly journals: these are what you should most often cite in research essays in the English Department.

Key Journal Indexes

ITER Gateway to the Middles Ages and Renaissance
A bibliography of books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies, dissertation abstracts), and essays in books. 

International Medieval Bibliography
IMB is the leading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500), with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings,essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide on all subjects.

MLA International Bibliography
This is the standard bibliography for scholarly writing on literature, linguistics, drama, folklore, etc. Indexes over 4,000 international journals, as well as monographs, dissertations, and other publications. See help guide.

Literature Online
Searchable database of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Also indexes criticism from The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) and MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB), and includes the full text of 104 specialist literature journals. See help guide.

Literature Resource Center
The LRC is a complete literature reference database rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.

Other Useful Indexes

ATLA Religion Database

Academic Search Complete
Is a multi-disciplinary index to more than 10,900 publications including peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.

Bibliography of British and Irish History

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education and more.

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to english literature.   

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find it. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholary from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference

Featured Titles

Early Theatre
Leeds Studies in English
Medieval English Theatre
Mediaeval Studies
Speculum
Viator