Skip to main content

Medieval Drama: the York and Towneley Cycles

Selected Resources for Medieval Drama

Early English drama, Everyman to 1580 : a reference guide
REF Z2014 .D7 W48 1986

Cambridge Companion to Medieval English Theatre
PN2587 .C36 2008

A Companion to Medieval English Literature and Culture, c.1350-c.1500

Companion to Old and Middle English Literature
PR166 .C66 2002

Oxford Companion to English Literature

Language Resources

Middle English Dictionary
REF  PE891 .K9 (13 volumes)

Middle English Compendium

Oxford English Dictionary
As a citations dictionary, it quotes sentences used by authors to illustrate the history of usage beginning with the earliest known usage of each word. For assistance on searching, go to Help at OED.

Historical Resources

Medieval England: an Encyclopedia
REF  DA129 .M43 1998
Covers English social, cultural and political life from the Anglo-Saxon invasions in the fith century to 1500. Under the section on Drama, Vernacular, there is a 3 page entry on biblical (cycle, mystery) plays plus bibliography.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
REF  D114 .D5 1982
The entry, Mystery Plays, is 7 pages long with an extensive bibliography.

The New Cambridge Medieval History
Multi-volume set which covers Europe and the Middle East during their transition from Roman to medieval society.

Reference Sources

Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other resources are useful for obtaining background information on a topic, in addition to helping you focus your topic and identify the main concepts, terms and keywords that describe your topic

Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide a general overview of  a subject and information such as names, dates, and facts. They also provide historical and political events that may have impacted a person's work and the society and culture in which they lived and worked.

Dictionaries are useful for more than just looking up definitions.  A historical dictionary, such as the Oxford English Dictionary, includes full etymologies, and dated quotations to show shifting meanings over time. 

To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".

The  OED is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of the English language.