Skip to main content

Middle East & Islamic Studies

Overview

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.  

Key Indexes

Print holdings: 1665 - 1905
Indexes articles on Islamic subjects in periodicals and other collective publications.
 
Index to scholarly publications on theology and religious studies.
 
Covers time period from 1450 to the present. Comprehensive index to the world's historical literature (except Canada and the United States).
 
 
 
Up-to-date information and research in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Other Useful Indexes

Print holdings: 1969 - present
Indexes a broad spectrum of subjects global studies, history, journalism, literary and critical studies, political science, government and public policy, and more...
 
Journal in Middle Eastern Studies.
 
Includes working papers from university research institutes, ... NGOs, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
 
Major international index to scholarly research in all fields of philosophy.

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to Canadian studies.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find the title.. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.

How to Search for a Journal Using QCAT

Once you’re in QCAT: 

• Select the ‘journal title exact" option
  from the dropdown menu
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

TIP: Search the journal title and not the
        article title.

Both print journals and ejournals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdlings or the years covered online.