Skip to main content

Moot Court Resources

Books

A Practical Guide to Mooting (*Canadian) by Sharon A. Williams and Janet Walker (Emond Montgomery,1995)
KE302 .W55 1995 (3-hour Reserve)

This book takes you through the process of mooting: reading and analyzing the case, researching, preparing the factum, preparing for oral argument, the hearing, relevant rules from various courts. It also describes some of the moots: Canadian Corporate/Securities Law, Gale, Jessup, Laskin, National Aboriginal Law, Niagara, Court Tournament and Wilson

The Essential Guide to Mooting: a Handbook for Law Students (*Canadian) by Emir Aly Crowne-Mohammed and Mohamed R. Hashim, with an appendix on drafting motions by Shelley Kierstead (Irwin Law, 2010)
KE302 .C76 2010 (3-hour Reserve)

This short book goes through various parts of mooting, including preparation, opening remarks, delivering submissions, phrases and terminology, and dealing with questions. Appendices include marking guides for facta and oral presentations as well as tips for drafting a motion.

The Law School Book: Succeeding at Law School, 3d ed. (*Canadian) by Allan C. Hutchinson (Irwin Law, 2009)
KE289 .H88 2009 (3-hour Reserve) or as an e-book.

Chapter 8, "Stand and Deliver: Doing a Moot" guides you through researching and writing for a moot. It also also gives practical tips for oral argument and dealing with questions during the moot.

How to Moot: a Student Guide to Mooting by John Snape and Gary Watt (Oxford University Press, 2004)
KD440.A2 S66 2004 (3-hour Reserve)

Answers 101 questions about mooting in a Q&A format, from "How does a moot differ from a mock trial?" to How do I read and choose authorities?" to How should I address the moot judge? to When is an authority binding on a moot court?"It also includes various documents, such as a judge's score sheet and suggested moot court layout

The Observer Book of Moots edited by Paul Dobson and Barry Fitzpatrick (Sweet & Maxwell, 1986)
KD440.A2 O27  (3-hour Reserve)

This book covers how to prepare and deliver a moot and gives sample moots in many areas of law. It is focused on the British system, specifically the Observer National Mooting Competition.

Legal Skills, 4th ed. by Emily Finch and Stefan Fafinski (Oxford University Press, 2013)
KD661 F56 2013 (3-hour Reserve)

Chapter 18, "Mooting Skills", is a step-by-step gjuide to the preparation and delivery of a moot, using a sample moot as an example. There are also illustrations and sample questions throughout.

Glanville Williams: Learning the Law, 13th ed. edited by A.T.H. Smith (Sweet & Maxwell, 2006)
KD442 .W54 2006 (3-hour Reserve)

Chapter 11, "Moots and Mock Trials", is a short essay providing an overview to the purpose of moots and guidance about effective mooting.

How to Please the Court: a Moot Court Handbook edited by Paul I. Weizer (Peter Lang, 2004)
KF281.A2 H69 2004 (3-hour Reserve)

A collection of essays taking you through the stages of preparing for a moot. With appendices, such as an oral argument checklist and sample moot problems.

The Art of Argument: a Guide to Mooting by Christopher Kee (Cambridge University Press, 2006)
K2251 K44 2006 (3-hour Reserve)

A step-by-step guide that includes entries on team-building and practice moots as well as summaries of specific moot competitions.

Advocacy in the Moot Court Program by John S, Searles (W. H. Anderson, 1971)
KF281 .A2S4 1971

This book covers brief-writing and oral advocacy, and gives a sample moot court problem.  

 

Sample Factums

Queen's Moot Court Program: Sample Factums.
Prof. Don Stuart, Chair
KE298 .L4Q4 1997 (3-hour Reserve)

A collection of sample factums from the Gale, Wilson and Laskin moots, as well as from the in-school moot program, from 1996 and 1997.

Organizing a Moot Competition

International Moot Court: an Introduction. by Meghan Spillane and the International Bar Association (International Debate Education Association, 2008).
KZ1237 .S65 2008

This guide is aimed at organizers of high school moot competitions on international law, but the well-organized and clearly-written text could assist anyone organizing a moot competition.

Mechanics of the Courts: Mock/Moot [*Canadian] by Susan De Gruchy (University of Windsor Community Law Program, 1976).
K765 W5 D321 (Old Class) (Reserve)

This short book, also aimed at high schools, guides organizers through the basics of setting up a mock trial or moot competition.

Written Advocacy

The Hon. Justice Ian Binnie, “In Praise of Oral Advocacy,” 21 The Advocates' Society Journal no. 4, 3-18.

The Hon. Justice Marvin Catzman, “The Wrong Stuff: How to Lose Appeals in the Court of Appeal,” 19 The Advocates' Society Journal no. 1, 1-5.

The Hon. Justice George Finlayson, “Appellate Advocacy in an Abbreviated Setting,” Court of Appeal for Ontario, Archives, Speeches.

John Sopinka and Mark Gelowitz, The Conduct of an Appeal , 3d ed. (Markham: LexisNexis Canada, 2012), especially chapter 9, "Preparing for and Presenting the Argument".
KE8585 .S66 2012 (3-hour Reserve)

The Hon Justice Michael Kirby, Ten Rules of Appellate Advocacy. Speech given by the former president, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of NSW (1984 - 1996) to the Australian Advocacy Institute - Appellate Skills Workshop, May 5, 1995.

Oral Advocacy

The Hon. Justice Ian Binnie, “In Praise of Oral Advocacy,” 21 The Advocates' Society Journal no. 4, 3-18.

The Hon. Justice Marvin Catzman, “The Wrong Stuff: How to Lose Appeals in the Court of Appeal,” 19 The Advocates' Society Journal no. 1, 1-5.

The Hon. Justice George Finlayson, “Appellate Advocacy in an Abbreviated Setting,” Court of Appeal for Ontario, Archives, Speeches.

John Sopinka and Mark Gelowitz, The Conduct of an Appeal , 3d ed. (Markham: LexisNexis Canada, 2012), especially chapter 9, "Preparing for and Presenting the Argument".
KE8585 .S66 2012 (3-hour Reserve)

The Hon Justice Michael Kirby, Ten Rules of Appellate Advocacy. Speech given by the former president, Court of Appeal, Supreme Court of NSW (1984 - 1996) to the Australian Advocacy Institute - Appellate Skills Workshop, May 5, 1995.