Skip to main content

MUSC 103: Music and Society

Article indexes

Find citations of journal articles or book chapters on your topic in an article index or subject-related database such as RILM or Music Index Online.  Use the web proxy to access electronic journals and databases from off-campus.

Nota bene: Once you find a useful citation, search QCAT for the source journal or book title containing the article you need: i.e the title of the whole book or the whole journal in which the article can be found.

Some databases provide PDF full text articles, or contain links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

Can't find the article you need at Queen's either in print or electronically?  Try RACER, our interlibrary loan service.  But remember to start your research early!

Key Music Article Databases

Music Index Online

Publication coverage: 1970 - present (some backfile indexing for 1962-1969)
Articles from over 700 international music periodicals. Includes book, music recording, and performance reviews. Access to historiographic, ethnographic and musicological information. Topics include music personages, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, and computer-produced music.
Publication coverage: 1967 - present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)
Comprehensive, scholarly, international index to music literature, from Western and Eastern classical to pop, folk, and jazz.

Other Related Databases

Academic Search Complete (multidisciplinary index to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.  Approximately 50% of journal titles contain full-text articles)

America: History and Life Canadian resource (covers also native populations in Canada, U.S., Mexico)

ATLA Religion Database (topics include world religions, and religious perspectives on social issues)

Bibliography of Native North Americans Canadian resource (covers native North American culture, history, and life)

Film Index International (stories and bibliographical references re the film.  No Get it @ Queens button so need to look up references individually to see if we have)

Gender Studies Database (interdisciplinary topics related to gender studies, including music)

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (areas include anthropology, art, cultural studies, gender studies, geography, race and ethnic studies, religious studies, sociology)

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (selective articles with full-text)

JSTOR (electronic journal archive providing access to entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law, from v. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume).

Oxford Reference Online - Music (Music collection component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)

Oxford Reference Online – Society and Culture (Society and Culture component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)

Political Studies @ ProQuest (searches 4 political studies databases, including IBSS, PAIS, Worldwide Political Abstracts, ProQuest Political Science)

Sociology @ ProQuest (searches 3 sociology databases simultaneously, including Sociological Abstracts, IBSS and ProQuest Sociology)

Evaluating Journal Articles

Journal articles are important as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

Consult our guide Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals, to help evaluate and decide which journal articles will be useful for your essay.

Other Music Databases

Canadian Music Periodical Index Canadian resource

Citations to articles on music in Canada, dating from the late-19th century to the present day, from 500 Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines.
Find classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material. Publication coverage: 15th - 21st centuries.
Part of the Canadian Encyclopedia, offered free online by Historica Canada
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Popular music of all genres and periods, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music as well as popular music trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. Publication coverage: 1900 to present
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Online version of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.  Updated articles are date-stamped in the upper right corner of the screen.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (100 user limit)
Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings. NOTE: Check system requirements and settings.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (3 user limit)
Online version of Grove Music Online (including The New Grove Dictionary of Opera), Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.  Ongoing additions of new material and updates to texts.
Access restricted to the Queen's community (5 user limit)
Audio files for published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and more.