MUSC 171: The Social History of Popular Music

Find citations or full-text of journal articles or book chapters on your topic in an article index or subject-related database such as RILM or Music Index Online.

Nota bene: Once you have found a useful citation, then search Omni for the source journal or book title which contains the article you need: i.e the title of the whole book or the whole journal in which the article can be found.

Some databases will provide the full text of articles, or contain links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

If you can't find the article you need at Queen's either in print or electronically, try RACER, our interlibrary loan service.

Major Music Article Databases (see other music databases below Interdisciplinary and Crossdisiplinary Databases)

Access from off-campus to electronic databases or electronic journals provided for the Queen's community requires use of the web proxy

Music Index Online

 

Publication coverage: 1970 - present (with some backfile indexing from 1962-1969)

Indexes articles from over 700 international music periodicals, as well as book reviews and reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances. Obituaries and first performances are noted. Access to historiographic, ethnographic and musicological data. Topics include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature  Access limit

 

Publication coverage: 1967 - present (updated monthly)
Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 user limit)

Comprehensive, international index to music literature, from Western and Eastern classical to pop, folk, and jazz.

 

 

Academic Search Complete (multi-disciplinary index to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports, with approximately 50% of the journal titles also containing the full-text of articles)

America: History and Life  (covers also Indigenous populations in Canada, U.S., Mexico)

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America(covers Indigenous North American culture, history, and life)

Gender Studies Database (interdisciplinary topics related to gender studies include music)

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (areas include anthropology, art, cultural studies, gender studies, geography, race and ethnic studies, religious studies, sociology)

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (selective articles with full-text)
 

JSTOR (an electronic journal archive providing access to the entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law, from v. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume).

Oxford Reference Online - Music (Music collection component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)

Oxford Reference Online – Society and Culture (Society and Culture component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)

Sociology @ ProQuest (searches 3 sociology databases simultaneously, including Sociological Abstracts, IBSS and ProQuest Sociology)