Skip to main content

MUSC 386: Research and Bibliography in Ethnomusicology

Essential Reference

Reference Tools

American folklore : an encyclopedia / ed. by Jan Harold Brunvand
Online as well as Ref. GR101 .A54 1996 in library
North American folklore (American and Canadian), excluding the folklore of Native Americans.

American Musical Traditions / ed. by Jeff Todd Titon, Bob Carlin

Ref. ML3551 .A53 2002 5 vols.
Published in collaboration with the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, covers Native American, African American, British Isles, European American, Latin American and Asian American musical traditions and influences.
Volumes 1-7 of print version below now accessible online: v. 1. Media, industry and society. v. 2. Performance and production. v. 3. Caribbean and Latin America. v. 4. North America. v. 5. Asia and Oceania. v. 6. Africa and the Middle East. v. 7. Europe.
Continuum encyclopedia of popular music of the world. 9 vols.
Ref. ML102 .P66 C66 9 vols.
Volume 9 published under title: Bloomsbury encyclopedia of popular music of the world / ed. by David Horn et al. Contents: v. 1. Media, industry and society. v. 2. Performance and production. v. 3. Caribbean and Latin America. v. 4. North America. v. 5. Asia and Oceania. v. 6. Africa and the Middle East. v. 7. Europe. v. 8. Genres : North America. v. 9. Genres : Caribbean and Latin America.

Encyclopedia of African American music / ed. Emmett G. Price

Ref. ML101 .U6 E53 2011 3 vols.
Showcases all facets of African American music, including folk, religious, concert, and popular styles, and its role in American cultural history.
Freely accessible online updates to Encyclopedia of music in Canada, 2nd ed. - Kallman and Potvin, eds. Ref. ML106 .C3 E52 1992t / Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada, 2nd ed. Ref. ML106 .C3 E5214 1993 3 v.
The English and French print versions are now subsumed by The Canadian Encyclopedia and updated online by Historica Canada. These combined sources are still the most authoritative first point of reference for researching the music of Canada.
See specific topics such as "marius barbeau" or the chapter on Ethnomusicology in general.

The Encyclopaedia of music in Ireland / eds. Harry White & Barra Boydell

Ref. ML101.I73 E53 2013 2 vols.
First comprehensive attempt to chart Irish musical experience across recorded history and document Ireland's musical relations with the world at large. Alphabetical listing.

Encyclopedia of Native American music of North America / Elaine Keillor, Tim Archambault, and John M.H. Kelly.

ML102.N37 K45 2013 ref
Documents the varied musical practices among North America's First Peoples, both historically and in the modern context.
Updated web access of Colin Larkin's 10-volume The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th edition, covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, available through Oxford Music Online. Library has 3rd ed. of The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Ref. ML102 .P66 G84 1998 8 vols.
Search specific names or topics.
Web access to 2004 edition of Ethnomusicology : a guide to research.  Updated print 2nd ed. of Ethnomusicology : a research and information guide. ML128.E8 P67 2011 ref.  Introduces print and web-based sources and research resources published primarily in the last decade. Sources organized by topic and geographic region.
Web access to The Garland encyclopedia of world music, the first encyclopedia devoted to the music of all the world's peoples, with each volume devoted to a single region. Print edition: Ref. ML100 .G16 1997- 10 vols., accompanied by 9 CDs at Circulation Desk (SRCD97-121 v. 1-9).
Updated web access through Oxford Music Online to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Ref. ML100 .N48 2001 29 vols.
See specific topics or the chapter on Ethnomusicology in general.

The Harvard dictionary of music, 4th ed. / edited by Don Michael Randel.

Ref. ML100 .A64 2003
Coverage has greatly expanded to include non-Western and popular music and musical instruments of all cultures.

Latin music : musicians, genres and themes / Ilan Stavans, editor.

Ref. ML101.L38 L37 2014 2 vols.
Alphabetical, encyclopedic listing of topics on Latin music and Latino culture, including musical instruments, record cover art, festivals and celebrations, the institution of slavery, feminism, and patriotism. Covers the music, traditions, and history of more than two dozen countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Spain, and Venezuela.

The rough guide to world music / ed. by Simon Broughton et al.

Ref. ML102 .W67 W67 2006-2009, 3rd ed. 2 v. (vol. 3 not yet published)
v. 1. Africa & Middle East. v. 2. Europe, Asia & the Pacific.

Selected musical terms of non-Western cultures : a notebook-glossary / Walter Kaufmann

Ref. ML108 .K37 1990

World music : the rough guide

Ref. ML102 .W67 W67 1999 2 v.
A-Z on the music, musicians and recordings of: v. 1. Africa, Europe and the Middle East; v. 2. Latin and North America, Caribbean, India, Asia and Pacific