Skip to main content

Music

Try these evaluated sources

American Musicological Society

Mega-site with web sites of interest to musicologists, including early music, folk music and ethnomusicology, computer and electronic music, theory and composition, music education, rock and pop and women in music.
 

British Library Sounds

British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
 

Canadian Music Centre

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online

An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology,as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Responsibility moved from the Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature, Indiana University, to the American Musicological Society in 2010.
 

Encyclopedia of Music in Canada

Freely accessible online updates to Encyclopedia of music in Canada, 2nd ed. - Kallman and Potvin, eds. Ref. ML106 .C3 E52 1992t.
 
Now subsumed by The Canadian Encyclopedia and updated online by Historica Canada. Still the most authoritative first point of reference for researching the music of Canada.
 

Online Resources for Music Scholars

Maintained by Harvard College Library
 
Smithsonian Institution
 
Links to sites for artists, exhibitions, musical instruments, performances and recordings, including Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and Music and Musical Instruments

Composer sites

J.S. Bach Home Page
 
The Beethoven Gateway
 
Formerly the Beethoven Bibliography Database, the gateway is offered as a free online comprehensive and fully-indexed bibliography of books, articles, scores and other sources relating to Beethoven, from the catalog of the collections of the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies.
 

NMA Online : NEUE MOZART-AUSGABE / DIGITAL MOZART EDITION

"The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentary of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe. Some restrictions apply to the reproduction of images of source materials, particularly in the supplement to the edition."