Skip to main content

MUTH 110: The Republic to Rationalism: History, Arts, and Performance I

Why Consult a Reference Resource?

Reference resources are a good place to begin your research.  They can help you: 

  • Obtain a broad overview on your topic.
  • Clarify and define concepts.
  • Find key dates and events.
  • Identify who are authorities in the field.
  • Find bibliographical references that lead to additional resources.
  • Find relevant keywords for further research for books, articles, and websites.

Useful Reference Tools for MUTH110

 
 
 
Also known as Grove Art Online, updated web access to The Dictionary of Art (N31 .D5 1996t, 33 vols. Stauffer Library - Compact Shelving).
Also known as Grove Music Online, updated web access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Music Ref. ML100 .N48 2001 29 vols.
OBO lists books, journals, primary documents, web resources, and multimedia in various discipline-based subject modules such as: Art History, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Medieval Studies, Music, Renaissance and Reformation.
Oxford Reference Online - quick and in-depth reference tools you can explore by subject discipline
 
 

Collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias includes: Oxford Dictionary of World History, Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance, Oxford encyclopedia of the Reformation. Many of the Oxford titles are also in print in Stauffer Reference. Search QCAT by title for the call number.

 
 
 

Print Reference Sources

There are many specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries still in print. Search QCAT using Keyword Boolean (e.g. drama and dictionaries) to find print or electronic reference sources on your topic, or consult individual Subject Guides for suggestions.