Skip to main content

MUTH 111: Listening to Revolutions: History, Arts, and Performance II

Why Consult a Reference Resource?

Reference resources are a good place to begin your research.  They can help you: 

  • Obtain a broad overview on your topic.
  • Clarify and define concepts.
  • Find key dates and events.
  • Identify who are authorities in the field.
  • Find bibliographical references that lead to additional resources.
  • Find relevant keywords for further research for books, articles, and websites.

Useful Reference Tools for MUTH111

Artstor (digital image library for educational and scholarly uses. To use ARTstor to its full advantage (both on or off campus), you must first become a "registered user")
 
Information about Canadian actors, playwrights, directors, producers, designers, theatre organizations and institutions, composers and plays available to the world.
 
Details theatrical figures, plays, theatre and production companies.
 
Also known as Grove Art Online, updated web access to The Dictionary of Art (N31 .D5 1996t, 33 vols. Stauffer Library - Compact Shelving).
Also known as Grove Music Online, updated web access to The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Music Ref. ML100 .N48 2001 29 vols.
OBO lists books, journals, primary documents, web resources, and multimedia in various discipline-based subject modules such as: Art History, Cinema and Media Studies, Music, Victorian Literature.
Oxford Reference Online - quick and in-depth reference tools you can explore by subject discipline
 

Collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias includes: Dictionary of World History, Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern WorldOxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History.

 
Dictionaries and encyclopedias include: Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance and the earlier Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance.
 

Print Reference Sources

There are many specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries, such as the Oxford titles, still in print in Stauffer Reference. Search QCAT by title to find the call number.

Search QCAT using Keyword Boolean - e.g. (drama or theater or "performing arts") and dictionaries - to find print or electronic reference sources on your topic, or consult individual Subject Guides for suggestions:

Drama Guide for: dictionaries, biographies, plays, criticism, reviews

Music Guide