Skip to main content

MUTH 380: Research Methods in the Performing Arts

Journal Citation

How to analyze a journal citation

Lockwood, Lewis.  "Performance and "authenticity"." Early music 19.4 (November 1991): 501-506.

The citation refers to an article in a journal.

Tip: Search QCAT by Journal Title Exact to see if Queen's Library subscribes to the journal early music.  Omit initial articles (the, an, a), if any.  Ignore punctuation and case.

Key Performng Arts Journals

Below are selected journals in the performing arts.  Many good articles will also be found in other interdisciplinary journals.

Check QCAT under Journal Title Exact to see if the journal is in print or electronic format at Queen's:

19th century music
 
Canadian theatre review (print begins 1974, electronic 1993)
 
Contemporary theatre review
Early music history
 
Eighteenth-century music
Ethnomusicology (print more up-to-date)
 
Journal of dramatic theory and criticism
Journal of popular music studies
 
Journal of seventeenth century music
Journal of the American Musicological Society
 
Modern drama
 
Music & Letters
MUSICultures (formerly: Canadian journal for traditional music)
 
New Theatre Quarterly: NTQ
Nineteenth-century music review
 
Nota bene: Canadian undergraduate journal of  musicology
Perspectives of new music
 
Plainsong & medieval music
 
Popular music
Popular music and society
 
Studies in theatre and performance
 
Theatre history studies
Women & music: a journal of gender and culture
 
World of music

Article indexes and databases

Find citations of journal articles or book chapters on your topic in an article index or subject-related database such as RILM or Music Index Online for music, International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance or MLA for drama. Use the web proxy to access electronic journals and databases from off-campus.

Nota bene: Once you find a useful citation, search QCAT for the source journal or book title containing the article you need: i.e the title of the whole book or the whole journal in which the article can be found.

Some databases provide PDF full text articles, or contain links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

Can't find the article you need at Queen's either in print or electronically?  Try RACER, our interlibrary loan service.  But remember to start your research early!

Key Article Databases in the Performing Arts

Covers journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries, with selective articles full-text
 
Fundamental research tool for the humanities - over 4000 international journals in the humanities.
 
Index to historiographic, ethnographic and musicological information from over 700 international music periodicals, as well as books and recordings, and performance reviews. Publication coverage: 1970 - present (some backfile indexing for 1962-1969)
 
Comprehensive, scholarly, international index to music literature, from Western and Eastern classical to pop, folk, and jazz. Publication coverage: 1967 - present. Access restricted to the Queen's community (4 simultaneous user limit)

Other Related Databases

America: History and Life Canadian resource (covers also native populations in Canada, U.S., Mexico)

ATLA Religion Database (topics include world religions, and religious perspectives on social issues)

Bibliography of Native North Americans Canadian resource (covers native North American culture, history, and life)

Film Index International (stories and bibliographical references re the film.  No Get it @ Queens button so need to look up references individually to see if we have)

Gender Studies Database (interdisciplinary topics related to gender studies, including music)

Historical Abstracts (comprehensive index to the world's historical literature (except Canada and the United States) from 1450 to the present. Indexes journal articles, selected books and dissertations).

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (areas include anthropology, art, cultural studies, gender studies, geography, race and ethnic studies, religious studies, sociology)

Oxford Reference Online – Society and Culture (Society and Culture component of Oxford Reference Online, a database of full-text e-book dictionaries, companions and Oxford reference works, 5-user limit)

Political Studies @ ProQuest (searches 4 political studies databases, including IBSS, PAIS, Worldwide Political Abstracts, ProQuest Political Science)

Sociology @ ProQuest (searches 3 sociology databases simultaneously, including Sociological Abstracts, IBSS and ProQuest Sociology)

Evaluating Journal Articles

Journal articles are important as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

Consult our guide Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals, to help evaluate and decide which journal articles will be useful for your essay.

Interdisciplinary Journal Databases

JSTOR (ejournal archive to entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law, from v. 1 to within 2-5 years of current volume).

Project MUSE (initially a joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU, providing digital humanities and social sciences content since 1995 from leading university presses and scholarly societies)