Skip to main content

Open Educational Resources

Creative Commons

Creative Commons Search lists resources to locate copyright-clear images. Do not assume that the results displayed in this search portal are under a CC license. You should always verify that the work is actually under a CC license by following the link.

Online Image Collections

Many libraries, archives, museums and other organizations make their collections available online, mainly for scholarly and research purposes.

Ad*Access

Historical advertisements -- images printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911-1955 -- drawn from Duke University Library's Archives. Main subject areas: radio, TV, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

Biology Image Library

A peer-reviewed collection of images, movies, illustrations and animations across biology and biomedicine.

Botanical Society of America

Browse groups of images, including historical sets, or search for a specific image. Each image links to a page containing more information.

Digital Collections Unit

The DCU "fosters the creation of and access to research and scholarly material in digital form from across the University of Minnesota."

Digital Image Resources on the Deep Web

Images Canada

Hosted by Library and Archives Canada, Images Canada allows users to search images from participating cultural institutions from across Canada.

LIFE Magazine Photo Archive

Search historic images from the 1750s to today. Hosted by Google.

NYPL Digital Gallery

An online archive of 275,000 images, available to the public for free. Includes Civil War photographs, illuminated manuscripts, Japanese prints, early American maps, and photographs of New York City buildings and streetscapes.

Openclipart.org

OurOntario.ca

Digital images, text, audio and video materials about Ontario history, heritage and culture.

Prints and Photographs Online Catalogue

A repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries, with Phase One of the project focusing on visual materials, including digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, and manuscripts.

WorldImages

Provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. Global coverage.

Photo Sharing Sites

Photo-sharing sites allow individuals to upload their own photos and make them searchable by descriptive tags . Some images on these sites may be used under Creative Commons licensing, at the discretion of the poster. Sites include:

Flickr has introduced The Commons, where member institutions make available images that have no known copyright restrictions. Some of the participating institutions include the Library of Congress and the Musée McCord Museum in Montreal.

Other institutions are making some collections available independent of The Commons, including Library and Archives Canada and the Boston Public Library, most of these images are available for use under Creative Commons licensing.