Research Guides: Physics and Engineering Physics: Find Articles

Where's the Article?

If the full-text is not available in the database, click on the Get It @ Queen's button. You will see if the article is available electronically (either from a journal or another database) or in print. If the article is not available, you can request a copy using RACER, our interlibrary loan system. It's free!

Article & Preprint Databases

ADS Digital Library for Physics and Astronomy
A public database containing more than 12.1 million records for journal articles, e-prints, conference papers, observatory bulletins, and other types of publications.
arXiv
arXiv contains e-prints (draft manuscripts) in the fields of astronomy, astrophysics, physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology.
CERN Document Server
Database of preprints, articles, reports, books, and so forth, in high energy physics and related areas. Contains 1.2 million bibliographic records and 400,000 full-text documents.
Compendex
Ei Compendex is the world's most comprehensive engineering literature database. It covers journals, conference proceedings, book series, theses and standards from AIAA, ASCE, ASTM, BSI, IEEE and SAE.
INIS Repository
INIS contains over 3.4 million bibliographic citations and abstracts of publications on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology from the 1940s to present.
Inspec
Inspec provides comprehensive coverage of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology from 1896 forward.
INSPIRE
INSPIRE contains more than 1.2 million records of high energy physics articles, conference papers, technical reports and other literature.
MathSciNet
MSN covers the mathematical sciences literature, including computational chemistry and mathematical physics. It contains more than 3 million references dating back to the early 1800s. It is produced by the American Mathematical Society (AMS).
Optica Open
Optica Open is a preprint archive for optics and photonics. It is maintained by the Optica Publishing Group (formerly OSA).
Web of Science
Web of Science indexes journals in the sciences, medicine and technology from 1900 to the present and conferences from 1990 forward.

Publisher Websites

AIP Scitation
Search journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies.
American Physical Society (APS)
The APS journal collection includes 12 leading peer-reviewed research journals.
IOP Science
The Institute of Physics publishes dozens of journals.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Elsevier publishes a number of physics journals.
SCOAP3
SCOAP3 is a partnership between libraries and publishers to convert journals in the field of High-Energy Physics to open access.
SPIE Digital Library
SPIE contains more than 440,000 full-text articles, conference papers and books on optics and photonics applied research.