Skip to main content

Political Studies

Biographies

Consult biographical dictionaries to get brief information about people, dates and events. For more sources, see Biographical Resources.
 
American Political Scientists: a Dictionary
REF JA61.A525 1993
 
Blackwell Biographical Dictionary of British Political Life in the Twentieth Century
REF DA566.9.A1B57 1990
Provides "succinct summaries of the careers of leading figures in twentieth-century British political life, together with concise estimates of their stature and significance".
 
Canadian Parliamentary Guide
CA1 X9 C16; Located in Stauffer Library's [Government] Documents: 1873-1879,1881,1883,1885,1887,1889,1891,1897-1899,
1901,1903,1905,1908-1909,1912,1914-2002,(2003,2004 not published),2005,(2006,2007 not published),2008- .
Presents short biographies of all sitting Members of the House of Commons, the Senate and the Provincial and Territorial Legislatures. It also contains information about members of the Governor General's Household, judiciary, diplomatic corps, commissions, boards, and public service officials from 1867 onward.
 
 
Dictionary of Political Biography
(Oxford Reference Online)
Describes and assesses the lives of the major figures in world politics of the twentieth century.
 
Fifty Major Political Thinkers (2003)
2007 edition is in print only at: JA66.A314 2007
Introduces in essay format the lives and idea of some of the most influential figures in Western political thought, from ancient Greece to the present day.
 
International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who
JA51 .I61 (1964; 1966-2000; 2000 in SL Reference) *Subscription cancelled in 2000.
Provide biographies of over 8,000 world figures.
 
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought, 3rd ed. / by Roger Scruton.
REF JA61 .S37 2007
Routledge Dictionary of Politics, 3rd ed. (2004) / by David Robertson
 
Provides 165 signed articles on political thinkers which are defined broadly to include not only traditional political philosophers, but also some political activists, economists, psychologists, sociologists, and writers. Each article is followed by cross-references and selected bibliographies of primary and secondary works