Skip to main content

PSYC-452

Tips

PsycINFO advice.

  • Use Advanced Search for more precise searching
  • Start with a keyword search. Identify keywords by using terms and subject headings that worked well in your QCat or Summon searches
  • Use the Only Show Content Where section to limit your search to a specific age group, population, doc type, research methodology, etc.
  • Use date to narrow results within a date range
  • Use "quotation marks" for exact phrases
  • Use * symbol for truncation / different word endings
  • Use Peer-Reviewed journals only
  • Use the thesaurus ('term finder') to find controlled vocabulary or Thesaurus of Psychological Index terms.

To identify specific information...

At this stage you should have formulated a research question. Now you can extract the main concepts/subject and search subject-appropriate databases.

Multidisciplinary databases index a greater number of publications than discipline-specific databases, and they allow you to search across the disciplines. Examples of multidisciplinary databases include:

For in-depth searching, use subject-specific databases. Each academic discipline has its own specialized article indexes and databases. The content varies from database to database -- some contain full text articles, others contain images and music.

Access article indexes and databases from the following places from the library home page:

  • The Psychology subject guide (which lists core and related recommended databases for the disciplinE)
  • Use the databases tab above the default Summon search box when you know the name of the database you want to search.

Key indexes and databases relevant to developmental psycholinguistics are:

PsycINFO is the premier resources for locating research and scholarship in psychology and its many subfields.

PsycINFO (on PsycNET) Tutorials

PsycINFO (on OvidSP) Tutorials