Skip to main content

Public Administration

Books

Use QCat to search for the books, ebooks, videos, journals or newspapers that are available in print or online via the library.

Search tips:

  • Keyword search: like Google, terms are automatically combined with 'AND.'
  • Keyword boolean search: allows you to combine search words and phrases (using AND and OR). Use quotation marks for phrases (e.g. "corporate social responsibility")
  • To discover books about a particular person or organization, search QCat by subject heading, e.g.  buffet, warren     coca cola  


 

 

To find books by a particular author/person, search QCAT by author:

trudeau pierre

To find books about a particular author/person, search QCAT by subject heading:

clinton bill

To find books on a topic, use a keyword search if you do not know the correct subject heading for a topic. Think of the focus (or key) words that describe your topic.

"public health" and economy

Select useful titles and look at the full record for subject headings: (eg's)

Bureaucracy--Evaluation
Civil service reform--Canada
Project management
Public administration
Public policy

Click on the subject heading to do a new search or use words from the subject heading to modify your keyword search.

To find bibliographies on a topic, look for the subdivision bibliography following a subject heading.

Free trade and protection--Bibliography
Canada-Foreign relations--1945--Bibliography

Ebooks

Electronic books are listed in QCAT and Summon

Useful for public policy issues is Canadian Electronic Library (DesLibris platform)
CEL provides full-text access to a large collection of scholarly e-books, reports, studies and public documents from Canadian publishers and organizations. 

Also see our guide to Ebook collections and platforms
Ebooks at Queen's