Skip to main content

Research Data Management at Queen's University

Guide to Research Data Management planning

Support for Data Management

Contact Information:

Jeff Moon

Data Librarian

Academic Director, Queen's Research Data Centre

moonj@queensu.ca

(613) 533-6000 x77992


Alexandra Cooper

Data & Web Support Assistant

coopera@queensu.ca

(613) 533-6000 x77481


Subject Liaison Librarians


Data Services, Lower Level, Stauffer Library,

101 Union Street, Kingston, Ontario K7L 5C4

Google Map of Stauffer Library
 

QUL Research Data Archive

3D Laser Images of a Road Cut at Ivy Lea, Ontario (2007), Underground in Sudbury, Ontario (2007), Underground in Thompson, Manitoba (2009)

This data set was acquired as part of a PhD thesis entitled, Three-Dimensional Laser Imaging for Rock Mass Characterization. The image data was acquired in 3  field trials over the course of the thesis. Specifically, the image  data is from (1) a road cut at Ivy Lea, Ontario, (2) an underground mine  in Sudbury, Ontario, and (3) an underground mine in Thompson, Manitoba.

Lead Researcher: Jason Mah, Department of Earth Sciences, Faculty of Science, Carleton University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


2013 Survey of Commute Patterns Among Queen's University Employees

The objective of this survey was to investigate current commute patterns among Queen's employees and to assess whether recent Kingston Transit improvements have stimulated interest and willingness among Queen's employees to take Kingston Transit to commute to work.

Lead Researcher: Dr. Patricia A. Collins and Dr. Ajay Agarwal, School of Urban and Regional Planning, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Bala Parental Alienation Study: Canada, United Kingdom, and Australia, 1984-2012

Using databases of judicial decisions from Canada, Australia, and the United Kingdom, from 1984-2012, searching for the terms "parental alienation", "alienated child", "alienated", etc., cases were combed through to determine whether they represented cases where the court dealt with an issue of alienation.  Alienation is defined as a situation where one parent undermines the child's relationship with the other parent resulting in the child's rejection of that parent based not on the child's own experiences but rather the attitude of the alienating parent. Cases found to have dealt with parental alienation were studied and analyzed.

Lead Researcher: Nicholas Bala, Faculty of Law, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Baldwin-Green Study: Canada-U.S. Census of Industry, 1867-1940

This study matches Canadian and US manufacturing industries at the 2-digit SIC code level for census years 1900 to 1940. Canadian figures start at 1870.

Lead Researchers: Alan Green, John Baldwin, Department of Economics, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Canadian Relocation Cases: Heading Towards Guidelines, 2011

Using Westlaw and Quicklaw, Canadian relocation cases (where one parent wants to relocate with a child, following separation) reported in English from 2001 to the beginning of 2011 (738 in total) were identified and analyzed.

Lead Researcher: Nicholas Bala, Faculty of Law, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Canadian Reported Court Decisions on Custody, Access and Parenting

The data set includes Canadian reported custody decisions from 2015, as well as reported decisions in British Columbia and Ontario for 2005 and 2010. The cases are put within a data sheet with 18 different factors with the aim being to determine how Canadian custody/access/parenting cases are decided as a whole, and how they are decided in each jurisdiction.

Lead Researcher: Nicholas Bala, Faculty of Law, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Cranial Nonmetric Trait Database

A database of cranial measurements covering the Arctic and Northwestern North America as well as Northeast Asia, Eurasia, Africa, and the South Pacific.

The data and documentation is also available at the Cranial Nonmetric Trait Database.

Lead Researcher: Nancy S. Ossenberg, Department of Biomedical and Molecular Sciences, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Epidemiology of Neuropathic Pain in Canada, 2012

The purpose of this study is to estimate the prevalence of "pain of predominantly neuropathic origin" (POPNO) in Canada and its associated resource utilization. The primary objective is to estimate and compare the prevalence of POPNO using two screening tools that were recently used to document the prevalence of POPNO (S-LANSS) and pain with neuropathic characteristics (DN4) in the general population. The secondary objective is to quantify the association between POPNO and resource utilization and costs.

Lead Researcher: Elizabeth VanDenKerkhof, Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine and School of Nursing, Queen's University

Access: Dataverse (documentation only)


Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve (FABR) Projects for ENSC 430

  • Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve (FABR) Stewardship Projects, 2002-2014
    This dataset aims to centralize information about stewardship projects in the Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve (FABR) since its designation in 2002 until the present (2014), for the purpose of the UNESCO 10 year Periodic Review. This data may be modified as information is updated and added. The dataset was created as part of course requirements for ENSC430.
    Research Group: Andrea Johancsik, Kamila Pogoda, Lisa Leung, Nick Sutherland
    Access: QSpace | Dataverse
  • Frontenac Arch Biosphere and Landon Bay Biodiversity Monitoring Meta-Database, 2014
    This dataset is a  meta-data compilation of programs, research, and publications on biodiversity monitoring within the Landon Bay and Frontenac Arch Biosphere Region. The aim of this project was to develop a central  location for biodiversity monitoring programs so they are easily accessible to the public, stakeholders, and students. This will further act as a liaison between organizations and stakeholders, and interested parties. Each entry in the meta-database includes information on: Date, Research/Program Title, Location, Organization/Author, Purpose, Abstract, Type of Study, Contact Information, Species, and Information Access. The dataset was created as part of course requirements for ENSC430.
    Research Group: Tegan McWhirter, Brittany Huber, Alissa D'Aurizio, Megan Farrell
    Access: QSpace | Dataverse
  • Using a Conservation Biology Blueprint to Protect Seven Species found in the Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve, Canada, 2014
    This project developed a conservation biology blueprint for the Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve (FABR) region that can be used towards assessing current conservation practices as well as making future recommendations. The findings of the study can be used towards the Ten Year Biosphere Review for UNESCO, which the FABR submits to keep their biosphere designation. By gathering information in real time, appropriate actions can be taken much more quickly than if the information was only gathered every ten years. This means that different actors can alter their actions to preserve species diversity and success as different factors influence those species through time. For this study, seven species (bald eagle, red-headed woodpecker, common five-lined skink, black rat snake, milksnake, spotted turtle, and great blue heron) were mapped in the area between Frontenac Provincial Park and Charleston Lake Provincial Park. The black rat snake, spotted turtle, and great blue heron were specifically explored in an online survey as well. This study area was chosen on the suggestion of the FABR because it connects Crown Land with the provincial parks, making implementing any new policies easier than land found in the North-South corridor of Ontario which contains a high amount of private development. Using the predicted tree species data, county land usage, eBird data, and endangered species general distribution, this paper hopes to identify where key areas of protection are. By quickly locating hotspots for endangered species, stricter conservation regulations can be implemented to help the recovery of these species. The dataset was created as part of course requirements for ENSC430.
    Research Group: Alexandra Kelly, Monica Seidel
    Access: QSpace | Dataverse

The Globalization of Personal Data (GPD) Project International Survey on Privacy and Surveillance

The Globalization of Personal Data (GPD) was an international, multi-disciplinary and collaborative research initiative drawing mainly on the social sciences but also including information, computing, technology studies, and law, that explored the implications of processing personal and population data in electronic format from 2004 to 2008. The GPD project was conducted in nine countries: Canada, U.S.A., France, Spain, Hungary, Mexico, Brazil, China, and Japan. Three data files were produced: a Seven-Country file (Canada, U.S.A., France, Spain, Hungary, Mexico, and Brazil), a China file, and a Japan file.

Research Group: Surveillance Studies Centre, Department of Sociology, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Historical Canadian Macroeconomic Dataset, 1871-1994

This dataset provides data on the gross national product, population of Canada, government expenditures on goods and services, exports and imports of goods and services, government of Canada Bond yields, non-residential investment expenditures, and total investment expenditures for the period of 1871 - 1994.

Lead Researcher: Marvin McInnis, Department of Economics, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Images Study: A Survey of Medical Educators' Attitudes Towards Psychiatry, 2011

The purpose of this study was to obtain information about the attitudes of medical educators and leading health professionals in Asia-Pacific, European and other international collaborating sites to psychiatry and their opinions about psychiatrists.

Lead Researchers: Dr. Heather Stuart and Dr. Norman Sartorius, Centre for Health Services and Policy Research (CHSRP), Queen's University

Embargoed: data and documentation will be available in September 2018


Internet Shoppng 2013

This study was conducted to test the degree of e-businesses' compliance with internet-specific consumer protection legislation and to identify the factors that might make businesses more or less likely to comply with consumer protection legislation. The data gathered make it possible to assess the limits of current legislation and to offer some recommendations to improve e-businesses and online consumers' experience.

Researcher: Montplaisir, Mariella, Faculty of Law, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Korean War Interviews, 2015

The data includes the interviews conducted in Andong 5 Welfare Centre in Mapo-gu, Seoul, Korea. Through the archive, the author hopes to increase accessibility of the information about the ordinary people's experiences of the war for anyone who is interested in the topic. The archive will also help the author to uncover the voices of the people whose presence is often shadowed in history and the official knowledge by the narratives of the agencies of the government or a few powerful personalities.

Researcher: Da In Choi, Department of History, Queen's University

Supervisor: James Carson, Department of History, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Perspectives on Municipal Waste Management in Kingston, Ontario, 2012

The primary aims of this survey were to assess household waste management practices; participation in waste diversion practices; knowledge of local waste management politics; willingness to participate in local decision making regarding the development of a local waste processing facility; attitudes and perceptions of waste, waste management policies, and waste management technologies.

Lead Researcher: Dr. Myra Hird, School of Environmental Studies, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Practice and Research in Nursing (PRN) Wound Studies, 1999-2009

PRN Wound Studies consists of 6 studies examining the treatment and delivery of care for leg ulcers.

Research Group: Practice and Research in Nursing Group

Access: QSpace | Dataverse

Restrictions: Queen's University IP


Queen's University Biological Station Data Archive Dataverse

Research spans ecology, evolution, resource management and conservation, GIS, climate data, and environmental science.

Access: Dataverse


Research Data Management (RDM) Survey of Queen's University's Engineering and Science Departments

In order to become better prepared to support Research Data Management (RDM) practices in sciences and engineering, Queen’s University Library, together with the University Research Services, conducted a research study of all ranks of faculty members, as well as postdoctoral fellows and graduate students at the Faculty of Engineering & Applied Science, Departments of Chemistry, Computer Science, Geological Sciences and Geological Engineering, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, Engineering Physics & Astronomy, School of Environmental Studies, and Geography & Planning in the Faculty of Arts and Science.

Lead Researcher: Tatiana Zaraiskaya, Queen's Unviersity Library

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Research Data Management (RDM) Survey of Queen's University's Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Law, Education, and Policy Studies Departments

In order to become better prepared to support Research Data Management (RDM) practices in social sciences, humanities, policy studies, business, law, and education, Queen’s University Library, together with the University Research Services, conducted a research study of all ranks of faculty members, as well as postdoctoral fellows and graduate students in the Faculty of Education, Faculty of Law, Smith School of Business, School of Policy Studies, as well as the following programs at the Faculty of Arts and Science: Creative Arts, Humanities, Languages, Life & Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences.

Lead Researcher: Tatiana Zaraiskaya, Queen's Unviersity Library

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Sagelab Sexual Response to Audio and Visual Sexual Stimuli in Women, 2005-2012

These studies investigated within-gender variability in the gender-specificity of women's sexual response in relation to sexual attractions.

Lead Researcher: Meredith L. Chivers, Department of Psychology, Queen's University

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Survey of Canadian Academic Depository Libraries Regarding Electronic Government Publications, 2001

Canadian Depository Libraries are facing a crisis in dealing with government publications that have migrated to exclusively electronic format. Rather than providing these publications to libraries under the Depository Services Program (DSP), governments are increasingly 'publishing' exclusively on the web. In an effort to investigate how Canadian academic depository libraries are handling this trend a survey was developed and distributed on the InfoDep Listserv.

Lead Researcher: Jeff Moon, Data Services, Queen's University Library

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Understanding Chronic Pain Following Surgery in Women, 2006-2009

The object of this study was to evaluate the incidence of, and risk factors for, chronic post-surgical pain in women undergoing gynecologic surgery.

Lead Researcher: Elizabeth VanDenKerkhof, Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine and School of Nursing, Queen's University

In progress


Violence Risk Appraisal Guide - Revised, 2013

The VRAG-R is designed to assess the likelihood of violent or sexual reoffending among male offenders. The data set comprises demographic, criminal history, psychological assessment, and psychiatric information about the offenders gathered from institutional files together with post-release recidivism information. The VRAG-R is a twelve-item actuarial instrument and the scores on these items form part of the data set. Because one of the goals of the VRAG-R development project was to compare the VRAG-R to the VRAG, subjects' VRAG scores are included in this data set.

Lead Researcher: Grant T. Harris, Marnie Rice, Vernon Quinsey

Access: QSpace | Dataverse

Assisted Suicide, 2015
In this survey, Canadian’s views on doctor-assisted suicide are examined as the issues prepares to go before the Supreme Court of Canada. Religious adherence and participation, and previous experiences with palliative and hospice based care are also examined in relation to opinions on this issue.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Baggage Fees, 2014
Canada's major airlines are on the hot seat as a result of recently announced $25 fees for the first checked bag for flights in Canada. This poll shows that Canadian adults are widely opposed to the baggage fees recently imposed by domestic airlines.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Canadian Football League (CFL), 2014
This survey examines Canadian’s opinion of the Grey Cup and CFL, and its significance to Canadian culture and identity.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Canadian Perceptions of India and Trade, 2015
This poll looks at which countries Canadians think we should be developing trade ties with, support for the Trans-Pacific Partnership, and our perceptions of India, of Canada’s relationship with the country, and of the Indo-Canadian community.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Concussion and Youth Sports
This survey asks Canadian adults if they ever experienced a concussion playing sports as a child or adult. It also asks about proposed regulations for monitoring and preventing such injuries in youth sports.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Disability and Accessibility, 2015
Conducted in partnership with the Rick Hansen Foundation, this survey looks at disability and accessibility issues in Canada.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Disability in Canada, 2016
Conducted in partnership with the Rick Hansen Foundation, this survey examines awareness, perceptions, and attitudes regarding disability and accessibility in Canada.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Disasters, 2015
When Canadians are stranded by disaster abroad, who is responsible? This survey looks at whether the government or individuals themselves are responsible for getting them out of areas hit by disaster.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Election 2015
This poll, conducted as the 2015 Federal Election was entering its final weekend, looks at what eligible and likely voters think is the most important issue in the election, voter’s opinions of the 5 main parties and their leaders, and the likelihood that they will go out and vote on October 19.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Election 2015: The Politics of Health Care
This poll examines whether Canadians have their own family doctor, and among those that do - how easy or difficult it is to see the GP when needed; access to health care; how Canadians feel about the health care system both federally and provincially; and the attention health care has received in the 2015 Federal Election.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Energy Industry, 2014
This study looks at the Kinder Morgan pipeline expansion, the US Senate’s rejection of the Keystone XL pipeline, opinions about falling gas prices and views on energy policy in Canada.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Gender, Sports, and the Women's World Cup, 2015
This wide-ranging survey canvassed Canadians’ attitudes on male and female athletes and sports, their interests in the Women’s World Cup, and the scandals plaguing FIFA, the tournaments organizer.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Global Threats, 2014
In this poll on global and national threats to security and safety, just over half (55%) of Canadians say they aren't confident in the ability of domestic security services to prevent homegrown radicals from carrying out terrorist attacks in Canada.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Hockey Night in Canada, 2014
This survey examines Canadian’s opinion of the new Hockey Night in Canada format and on the role of hockey in Canadian society and culture.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Hockey Night in Canada Year in Review, 2015
This study looks at how Canadians feel Hockey Night in Canada with George Stromboulopoulos now in its second season.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Prayer in Canadian Public Life, 2015
In April 2015, the Supreme Court of Canada ruled on the use of prayer at municipal council meetings. This survey looks at if Christian prayer should be allowed at public meetings, the personal importance of religion in everyday life, the Supreme Court’s decision and whether God should be removed from the national anthem.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Religion and Faith in Canada Today, 2015
This poll looks at Canadians views towards religious belief, faith and multi-faith issues.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Sexual Harassment in the Workplace, 2014
In this survey, Canadian adults who are currently working or have worked outside of the home where asked about their experiences of sexual harassment or assault at work.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Truth and Reconciliation Commission, 2015
Canadians believe the recently concluded Truth and Reconciliation Commission was a worthwhile process for their country, and most support its key recommendations, but that doesn’t mean they anticipate the federal government taking action. This poll looks at Canadian’s attitudes towards the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, its process and recommendations, and Aboriginal people in Canada.
Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>

City of Kingston

City of Kingston 2008 Travel Survey

Survey of all trips made by households members over the age of 15, using any form of transportation, in the Greater Kingston Area.

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


City of Kingston Waste Diversion Survey, 2015

The purpose of the data was to gather information on resident preferences for different methods to increase the diversion of household waste from landfill. Data was used to report to Kingston City Council on preferred options for increasing waste diversion.

Access: QSpace | Dataverse


Angus Reid Global

Christmas or Holiday Season?

Christmas or Holiday Season? is a three country survey which asked respondents which name they prefer during the holiday season - “Christmas” or “Holiday Season”.

Research Group: Angus Reid Global

Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Drone Awareness and Perceptions: A Three Country Study 2014

This survey aimed to understand awareness and perceptions surrounding the use of drones to identify and collect information in Canada, United States, and  United Kingdom. The questions asked individuals whether they had a basic awareness of various Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) applications, as well as assessed support for how they are being used and in what scenarios.

Research Group: Angus Reid Global

Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Privacy and Surveillance: June 2012 Globalization of Personal Data Follow-up

A follow-up survey to the Globalization of Personal Data International Survey on Privacy and Surveillance

Research Group: Angus Reid Global

Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Privacy and Surveillance: February/March 2014 Globalization of Personal Data Follow-up

A follow-up survey to the Globalization of Personal Data International Survey on Privacy and Surveillance

Research Group: Angus Reid Global

Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Public Opinion and the Snowden Affair

Public Opinion and the Snowden Affair is a three country survey which asked respondents about their attitudes towards Snowden's actions, as well as their views on government surveillance.

Research Group: Angus Reid Global

Access: QSpace | Dataverse | <odesi>


Loading