Get Started
RefWorks Guide
Exporting/Importing Citations from Online Databases
Specific Export/Import Help for most databases and platforms, such as EBSCOHost and ProQuest, is available from RefWorks.
Consult these guides for select databases not covered in the RefWorks list.
- Engineering and Science databases
- Literature Online
- MLA International Bibliography
- QCAT Library Catalogue
- Summon
Helpful Hints
Don't forget to check your references!
You are responsible for ensuring your citations are in the correct style. RefWorks isn't perfect, so don't take your chances!
Keep it simple! Keep it organized!
RefWorks folders are there to help keep your citations neat and tidy and to avoid confusion!
Write-N-Cite
What could be easier than clicking a button to cite references while you write your paper?
What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is an online citation manager that lets you save and organize your database and library catalogue searches. With RefWorks, you can format your bibliography in APA, MLA, AMA, and over 200 other styles. You can also manage and organize your citations, share your references with others, and most importantly, save time.
RefWorks is freely available to all Queen's students, faculty, alumni and staff as an online service provided by Queen's University Library and Ontario Scholars Portal.
Queen's RefWorks Accounts
Sign Up for a New RefWorks Account
Here's how to sign up for a free RefWorks account through Queen's University:
- Go to the Queen's RefWorks Login page (note: if you are off-campus, you will first be asked to enter your NetID)
- Click New to RefWorks? Sign up for an Individual Account.
Queen's Alumni can use RefWorks by providing the Queen's RefWorks Group Code when they log into RefWorks.
Multiple RefWorks Accounts
As long as you are a Queen's student, employee, alumni or retiree, you can register for as many RefWorks accounts as you need. For example, you will want to create a personal account for your own assignments and/or research, but you also might want to create other accounts for group projects which you are involved in. Access to these group accounts can be shared among other members of the specific group.
Exporting Citations to RefWorks
- Export Instructions for Select Databases
Most popular databases offer an Export to RefWorks feature which will allow you to export your references directly to your RefWorks account. Other databases will let you download your references in a standard format like RIS or BiBTeX, which you can then manually import into your account.


Loading...
