The first book of its kind, Buddhist Moral Philosophy: An Introduction introduces the reader to contemporary philosophical interpretations and analyses of Buddhist ethics. It begins with a survey of traditional Buddhist ethical thought and practice, mainly in the Pali Canon and early Mahyna schools, and an account of the emergence of Buddhist moral philosophy as a distinct discipline in the modern world. It then examines recent debates about karma, rebirth and nirvana, well-being, normative ethics, moral objectivity, moral psychology, and the issue of freedom, responsibility and determinism. The book also introduces the reader to philosophical discussions of topics in socially engaged Buddhism such as human rights, war and peace, and environmental ethics.
Agents of Uncertainty
by John Danvers
Call Number: BL625 .D368 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Buddhism and American Cinema
by Gary Storhoff (Editor); Danny Rubin (Foreword by); John Whalen-Bridge (Editor)
Call Number: PN1995.9.B795 B79 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Discusses both depictions of Buddhism in film and Buddhist takes on a variety of films.
ATLA Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database is a great resource to begin exploring for peer-reviewed, scholarly articles in religious studies. It contains a wide scope of material concerning both Eastern and Western religions.
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Buddhism
An in-progress work that aims to provide comprehensive bibliographies for a variety of subjects in the field of Buddhism. Subjects arranged alphabetically with a short description followed by a list of resources. New entries will be continually added over the next few years.
The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
by Robert Buswell; Donald Lopez
Call Number: BQ130 .P75 2014
Publication Date: 2013-11-24
With more than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words, this is the most comprehensive and authoritative dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English. It is also the first to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions: Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Unlike reference works that focus on a single Buddhist language or school, The Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism bridges the major Buddhist traditions to provide encyclopedic coverage of the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites from across the history of Buddhism. The main entries offer both a brief definition and a substantial short essay on the broader meaning and significance of the term covered. Extensive cross-references allow readers to find related terms and concepts. An appendix of Buddhist lists (for example, the four noble truths and the thirty-two marks of the Buddha), a timeline, six maps, and two diagrams are also included. Written and edited by two of today's most eminent scholars of Buddhism, and more than a decade in the making, this landmark work is an essential reference for every student, scholar, or practitioner of Buddhism and for anyone else interested in Asian religion, history, or philosophy. The most comprehensive dictionary of Buddhism ever produced in English More than 5,000 entries totaling over a million words The first dictionary to cover terms from all of the canonical Buddhist languages and traditions--Sanskrit, Pali, Tibetan, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean Detailed entries on the most important terms, concepts, texts, authors, deities, schools, monasteries, and geographical sites in the history of Buddhism Cross-references and appendixes that allow readers to find related terms and look up equivalent terms in multiple Buddhist languages Includes a list of Buddhist lists, a timeline, and maps Also contains selected terms and names in Thai, Burmese, Vietnamese, Lao, Khmer, Sinhalese, Newar, and Mongolian
With over 2,000 wide-ranging entries, this dictionary is the most up-to-date and comprehensive of its kind. Written by a leading expert in the field and incorporating research by regional specialists, this new dictionary covers both historical and contemporary issues in Buddhism and includes all Buddhist schools and cultures. Elegantly illustrated with line drawings of religious structures, iconography, and ritual objects, The Dictionary of Buddhism includes entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools, information on the spread of Buddhism in Asia and the West, and coverage of issues of contemporary concern such as human rights, abortion, euthanasia, and the role of women in Buddhist teachings. An ultimate reference, the dictionary also contains appendices that include a chronology of important dates, a guide to canonical scriptures, and a pronunciation guide for difficult names and terms. Beliefs, doctrines, major teachers and scholars, place names, and artifacts are all covered in a clear and concise style making The Dictionary of Buddhism an invaluable source for anyone seeking information on Buddhism, from students of religion and related disciplines to practicing Buddhists.