Skip to main content

Religious Studies Grad Student Orientation

The Queen’s University library system includes six libraries in five facilities: the Bracken Health Sciences Library, the Engineering and Science Library and W.D. Jordan Special Collections (located in the Douglas Library Building), the Education Library, the Lederman Law Library and the Joseph S. Stauffer Library.

Stauffer Library

Joseph S. Stauffer Library houses the art, business, humanities and social sciences, music, and MADGIC (Maps, Data, Government Information Centre) collections. A majority of the Religious Studies collection of books and printed journals, therefore, are at Stauffer. It is also home to the Writing Centre and the Adaptive Technology Centre.

To learn more about Stauffer Library, you can take a virtual tour.

The Library Homepage

Queen's Library subscribes to over 650 specialized databases and article indexes, several hundred thousand electronic books, 80,000 electronic journals and newspapers, and has well over 2 million physical (non-electronic) items including over 1.65 million books. The Queen's University Library homepage is the gateway to the library's collections and research tools.

A few of the research tools that one can access from the library homepage have been identified in the following screenshot and include:

Off-Campus Access - access all of the Library's subscription-based resources with your net id and password.

Summon - simultaneously search the Queen's University Library catalogue (QCAT) and many of our electronic resources (electronic books, articles from journals, magazines and newspapers, theses and more) from a single search box

QCAT, the Queen's University Library catalogue (the authoritative source to determine whether we have a particular journal or book)

Journals, Databases and Course Reserves - easily accessible links have been provided to help you find a specific known item e.g. you need an article published in a 2015 issue of the Journal of Contemporary Religion.

Research by Subject - Research guides have been created by Librarians and consist of highly recommended sources for each discipline, including Religious Studies but are also available for specific resources e.g. Newspapers or Theses.

Scholarly Publishing - information is available on the subjects of open access requirements and policies at Queen's, copyright, and thesis requirements.

Subject Guides

Librarian