Skip to main content

SOCY 122: Introduction to Academic Library Research

Course guide library research tutorial

Sociological Abstracts

There are a number of journal article databases useful for research in sociology. As they index different journals (as well as other material) it is often a good idea to search more than one. The most relevant databases to sociology research are listed in the Articles section of the Sociology Subject Guide. The major database for sociology is called Sociological Abstracts.

sociological abstracts logo

Searching Sociological Abstracts

From the database information page for Sociological Abstracts click Go To Database. Once you have clicked on the link to enter the database, you should be presented with the Advanced Search Screen, where you can then enter your search terms in the search boxes, separated by the Boolean operators AND or OR. You can also choose where in the database you want your search terms to be found (abstract or document type), limit your search to peer reviewed, choose what source and document type you want.

For your assignments in SOCY 122, you will need to:

  • limit to peer reviewed
  • choose SOURCE TYPE: scholarly journals
  • choose DOCUMENT TYPE: journal article

‚Äčthe advanced search screen in sociological abstracts enables you to apply certain restrictions on your search

Sociological Abstracts: About

Sociological Abstracts provides access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 periodicals, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, theses, and conference papers. For your SOCY 122 major assignments you are required to use scholarly journal articles, which you will find in Sociological Abstracts, but since Sociological Abstracts indexes other information types as well, you will need to focus your searches to peer reviewed scholarly journal articles.

Sociological Abstracts: How to Guide

Searching Sociological Abstracts

A guide to all aspects of Sociological Abstracts including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.