Skip to main content

SOCY 427: Identification, Surveillance and Citizenship

Sources for Background Information

Use encyclopedias, handbooks and bibliographies to:

  • gain an overview of the subject
  • identify more specific aspects of the topic
  • provide context and theory
  • identify experts related to the field
  • keywords and subject-specific vocabulary terms that can be used for database searches
  • bibliographies that lead to additional resources

Encyclopedias

Blackwell Reference Online Contains over 425 reference books published by Blackwell, including those published in the fields of Communication and Media Studies, Law, and Sociology. Search your topic across the entire collection or choose a specific encyclopedia.

For example, a search for: identity and citizenship returns many results, including:

The International Studies Encyclopedia

Geographic Insights into Political Identity by E. Gilbert

A search for surveillance and privacy will include the following results:

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology  

Surveillance by D. Lyon
Privacy by G.T. Marx

The International Studies Encyclopedia

 Global Privacy Issues by P.M. Regan

Sage Reference Online Queen's Library access is to sources published in 2009-2010.

Includes the Encyclopedia of Identity 

Handbooks

Use handbooks to locate in-depth articles written by noted experts. Handbooks typically offer thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field.

Routledge Handbook of Surveillance Studies

 

Bibliographies

Use bibliographies to find a comprehensive list of sources on a specific topic or a selective list of key works on a topic.

Oxford Bibliographies

Note the entry Public and Private Surveillance written by K. Haggerty and D. Trottier