Skip to main content

Reading Tolkien and Beowulf

Finding Bibliographies

Bibliographies are useful for finding the most important publications on a given topic and can range from the general to the specific. There are specialized bibliographies on individual authors, genres, topics and periods. 

To find bibliographies in QCAT, search by keyword by typing bibliography or reference guide and topical keyword

beowulf and bibliography

Or search the subject heading and scroll down to the sub-heading bibliography if available.

Beowulf--Bibliography
English literature--Old English, ca. 450-1100--Bibliography

To find bibliographies for individual authors, search for the author's name as a subject and scroll down to the sub-heading bibliography if available.

Tolkien, J.R.R. (John Ronald Reuel), 1892-1973--Bibliography

Specialized Bibliographies

Beowulf Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography, 1979-1990
Z2012 .H23 1993

Tolkien Criticism; an Annotated Checklist
PR6039 .O32 Z9783

Translations of Beowulf: A Critical Bibliography
REF  PR1585 .Z9 T5 1968

Anglo Saxon England
PR6039 .O32 Z9783 (1972-2002 in Bound Journals)
Check the bibliographies published in each volume of this journal. From 2002 available online.  

Bibliographies like Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides helping you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic.

Check the research guide, Medieval Studies and the specific essay on Beowulf as well as the guide, British and Irish Literature and the essay on Old English Literature.