Skip to main content

Visual Art

Selected Art Websites

Selected websites of interest for Art, Canadian art, and links to art educational institutions and galleries or museums.

Art sites of interest

Artcyclopedia

Online encyclopedia to browse art movements or artists by name, medium, subject, nationality, or women artists. Read about Artcyclopedia.

Artdaily.org

The first art newspaper on the net, founded by Ignacio Villarreal in 1996. Provides news of the global art world, updated daily.

Art Studio Chalkboard

Website for educational use on technical fundamentals of perspective, shading, color and painting, designed by Ralph Larmann, art faculty member at University of Evansville.

Color Matters

Website derived from the teaching and passion for color of Jill Morton, professor of color theory at the School of Architecture, University of Hawaii.  A wealth of resource material under tabs relating to color and symbolism, design, marketing, the body, vision, science, plus valuable web links.

DeviantArt

An online art community where students can share work, chat with others, get critiques, and sell work.

iStock by Getty Images

Founded in 2000, iStock is a crowd-sourced stock industry and primary source for user-generated stock photos, vectors and illustrations and video clips. A platform for artists to distribute images and make a living through their art. See also Morguefile.

Saatchi Gallery

World's No. 1 museum on social media. Features contemporary artists with exhibition links for past 30 years.

Canadian Art

The AANDC site provides links to its AANDC Art Gallery and the Artist Directory of First Nation, Métis, and Inuit artists.
 
Canada's online source for visual art information
 
ARCCO (Artist-Run Centres & Collectives in Ontario) 
Founded in 1988, ARCCO is a provincial arts service organization that advocates for for artist-run culture in Ontario.
 
ACI, founded in 2012 at Massey College, University of Toronto, is a non-profit research organization that promotes the study of Canadian art history largely through commissioning a digital library of books on Canadian artists written by the country's leading art experts and published freely in the Canadian Online Art Book Project.
 
ArtistsInCanada.com site dedicated to raising the profile of the visual arts in Canada by maintaining a national directory of internet links to artists, art galleries and art resources by province and city
 
Includes link to Artefacts Canada
 
Concordia University Department of Art's collaborative endeavour to enhance scholarship on historical women artists in Canada.  The Artist database brings together literature about women artists who worked in Canada and who were born before 1925.
 
Search the CCCA Canadian Art database, housed at Concordia University. Includes First Nations and Inuit artists.
 
An introduction to contemporary native artists in Canada.
 
Index of Canadian Artists (Visual Arts) = Répertoire des artistes canadiens (Arts visuels)
Site created by François Lareau, B.A., LL.M. (Ottawa), covering Canadian and indigenous artists based on bio-bibliographic reference sources, with many images. Offers free listings for Canadian artists in visual arts or artists in visual arts living in Canada who have a web site.
 
An introduction to contemporary native artists in Canada.