Skip to main content

Western Intellectual History

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Consult specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person. To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".
 
Cambridge Ancient History
REF D57.C172
REF D57.C17
 
Dictionary of Concepts in History
REF D13.R49 1986
 
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
REF D114.D5 1982
 
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing
REF D14.E53 1999
 
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
REF D286.D5413 2001t
This 2 volume set, which has a French and European orientation, focuses primarily on concepts, bringing to bear recent advances in scholarship and new geographic and disciplinary approaches. There are articles on the countries and cultural regions where the Enlightenment flourished and on the major fields of intellectual activity, cultural institutions and anthropological categories.
 
This four volume set largely focuses on British and North American perspectives of the enlightenment.
 
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
REF CB361.E52 1999
 
Encyclopedia of World History
REF D9.E53 1998t
 
 
 
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas 2nd ed. (2005)
REF CB9.N49 2005 (Law Library)
REF CB5.D52 1973 (Dictionary of the History of Ideas)
 
The "History" collection of reference works is one component in the Oxford Reference Online database, a huge and comprehensive resource which contains the full text of over 120 dictionaries, companions and other reference publications covering the complete subject spectrum.
 
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
B51.R68 1998 (Compact Shelving)

Featured Titles