Skip to Main Content

Professional MPA

Policy Studies and Public Administration draw on a variety of disciplines – economics, political science, law…

Search databases to find journal articles, newspaper articles, book chapters, theses, conference proceedings and more.  Each academic discipline has its own specialized article indexes, which cover the core literature of that discipline and relevant material from related-disciplines.   Library subject guides list core and related recommended databases for each discipline:

See all Research by Subject Guides: http://library.queensu.ca/search/research-subject

       Public Administration   http://library.queensu.ca/search/subject/public-administration

 

Access specific databases via  http://library.queensu.ca/search/databases/browse

Key Databases

See the list in the Public Administration Guide 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
Covers the academic literature across all subjects. Indexes (with abstracts) over 10,000 publications including peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, conference proceedings, monographs and reports.

 

Google Scholar

[URL to bookmark: https://proxy.queensu.ca/login?url=https://scholar.google.com/ ]

Use to locate materials from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. Includes 'cited by' functionality.

By searching Google Scholar through the Queen’s web proxy (using the link provided above) the “Get It at Queen’s” citation linker is activated which allows you to click directly through to the Library’s subscriptions. 

To activate library links from within Google Scholar https://scholar.google.ca/ , click on 
Settings >> Library Links >> select Queen’s University Library at Kingston Canada >> Save

 

 

Web of Science

A large, multidisciplinary database, Web of Science provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings.
Cited reference searches link from, and find other articles that cite a previously published work. And you can limit your search to specific subject components, such as Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index or Science Citation Index.

 

News & Current Events

Queen’s Library subscribes to local, regional, national and international news databases. These databases provide significant date coverage (unlike the free news sites on the web) and allow for a variety of search capabilities ideal for academic-level research.
See 'News & Current Events' in the Public Admin guide
Consult the guide to major news indexes and full-text news resources at Queen’s Library. 

NEW is PressReader - instant online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format.