Skip to main content

BIOL 824: Gateway to Graduate Studies in Biology

Health Sciences Databases

This particular guide focuses on the natural sciences, although several medical databases are included.  For a more comprehensive listing of the Library's health sciences resources, check the guides and databases on the Health Sciences subject guide.

Off-campus Access

The online journals and databases available through the library will require off-campus authorization.  Use your Queen's netID and password to obtain access.  If you have trouble accessing any resources, please contact engsci@queensu.ca.

Google Scholar

Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. 

GS is particularly useful if you already have the title of an article and want to look it up quickly.

Searching Google Scholar through a Queen's NetID Login enables the Get It @ Queen's service (which links citations in Google Scholar to the full text of articles contained in Queen's subscriptions as well as to the library catalogue).

Google Scholar Search  

Finding Articles

Besides using Google Scholar, select relevant library databases for your information searches.  These databases have advanced filtering systems that allow you to make your searches more efficient.

Queen's Library subscribes to over 700 databases.  To ensure that you are using the best databases for your topic, please consult with your subject librarian.  Below is a list of databases relevant to Biology. 

These databases may index more than primary journal articles - they may have review articles, reports, maps, conference proceedings, dissertations or new items.  Keep in mind that publications may or may not be peer-reviewed.  To be certain, look up the publication title in Ulrichsweb for more information.

Natural Sciences Databases

Life Sciences Databases

Agricultural Databases

Related Databases