This particular guide focuses on the natural sciences, although several medical databases are included. For a more comprehensive listing of the Library's health sciences resources, check the guides and databases on the Health Sciences subject guide.
The online journals and databases available through the library will require off-campus authorization. Use your Queen's netID and password to obtain access. If you have trouble accessing any resources, please contact email@example.com.
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
GS is particularly useful if you already have the title of an article and want to look it up quickly.
Searching Google Scholar through a Queen's NetID Login enables the Get It @ Queen's service (which links citations in Google Scholar to the full text of articles contained in Queen's subscriptions as well as to the library catalogue).
The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) is an online database of the most comprehensive and current genetic and molecular biology data for Arabidopsis thaliana, a key reference plant. TAIR contains datasets of Arabidopsis gene function, mutant phenotype, expression pattern and related data extracted from the research literature. Additional features include a gene sequence viewer, specialized search functions (e.g. loci, proteins, DNA), bulk data download, and data visualization. TAIR was established in 1999. Each year, over 3000 Arabidopsis research articles are added. It is updated weekly.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.”
The BHL consortium works with the international taxonomic community, rights holders, and other interested parties to ensure that this biodiversity heritage is made available to a global audience through open access principles. In partnership with the Internet Archive and through local digitization efforts, the BHL has digitized millions of pages of taxonomic literature, representing over 120,000 titles and over 200,000 volumes.
BioOne is a nonprofit publisher that aims to make scientific research more accessible through a growing portfolio of products including its full-text aggregation, BioOne Complete, and open access journal, Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene
BIOSIS Previews combines the content of both Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings), thus providing comprehensive coverage of nearly 5,500 life science journals as well as 1,500 items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, patents, and software reviews.
Subject coverage: All areas of life science, including such topics as: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology.
Provides detailed scientific information, with images and sound, for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. Also contains image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings as well as recordings of bird songs and calls selected from the extensive collection in Cornell's Macaulay Library of Natural Sounds.
Explore bird species distribution with BirdVis. This tool lets anyone visualize, explore, and interact with the multidimensional output of distribution models for selected species, to examine regional and seasonal patterns of abundance through the annual cycle.
ION contains the organism names related data gathered from the scientific literature for Clarivate's Zoological Record® database. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added from other Clarivate databases such as BIOSIS Previews®.
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.
Covers communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS); tropical diseases; parasitology; human nutrition; community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology); medicinal and poisonous plants.
40% of the records are unique to global health. Produced by CABI. Material indexed includes: foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material. Content is derived from over 7,000 journals.
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.
It contains more than 5.2 million records for publications dating as far back as the 15th century and classified using NAL Agricultural Thesaurus terms and LC subject headings. In addition to journal articles, AGRICOLA covers books, book chapters, serials, reports, audiovisual materials and online content from around the world.
NALDC includes historical publications, U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) research, and more. Collections include the Organic Roots Collection and the Plant Inventory, U.S. Department of Agriculture.
The scope of the NALDC includes items published by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and clearly intended for public consumption, scholarly and peer-reviewed research outcomes authored by USDA employees while working for USDA, and other items selected in accordance with the subjects identified in the NAL Collection Development Policy.
The arXiv database contains e-prints (working papers) in the fields of astrophysics, physics, mathematics and statistics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, economics, and electrical engineering.
GEOBASE consists of the latest information on the earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, and environmental sciences, focusing on, and highlighting, the human and social impacts on both.
It covers 3+ million abstract records, providing a comprehensive geological evaluation of any desired region. This includes geological structure and relation to natural resources, as well as linking management, transport, and urban planning.
GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. It offers indexing and abstracts for more than 850,000 records and open access full text for nearly 13,000 records.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.